700R4 - TV cable tension problem wont allow WOT - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2006, 06:38 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

700R4 - TV cable tension problem wont allow WOT

Hi, bit of a tranny novice here and just getting back into modding cars after a couple of decades away from it. I have a chev TPI 5.7 and 700R4 transplanted from a Z28 into an aussie made GM utility.

The problem i have is that the TV cable requires so much tension that it wont allow WOT using the pedal (can manually at linkages with considerable effort) and if it gets close it will break throttle cables. With TV cable detached the throttle is light and reaches WOT perfectly. Ive checked all the geometry against several websites with adjustment instructions and all looks dead standard and spot on. Sedate shift points are perfect but I cant test beyond about 3/4 throttle due to the problem.

The car is a recent purchase so the box build is unknown but has high stall so may have other mods also. The TV cable tension is definitely the reason so I'd just like to confirm that what i feel when pulling the cable by hand sounds normal.

If i detatch the TV cable and let it retract to a relaxed position and then pull it through its full travel it appears to have 3 stages of hardness getting progressively harder and the last stage is seriously hard, enough to explain the broken throttle cables. Heres what i find;

The first stage is very light indeed and travels for about 6mm (0.23"). The next stage is noticeably harder but nothing too heavy and travels a further 14mm (0.55"). The thrid stage is very heavy indeed but even and travels a further 20mm (0.78") until an obvious stop is hit. Total travel is approx 40mm (1.57").