700r4 wiring?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2009, 04:18 PM
75GMCman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Zurich, Ontario
Age: 24
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 wiring??

Hi everyone! Last week I got my hands on a 700r4 (out of a 89 wrangler) for my 75 gmc. I haven't bought a book for it yet. I looked in the knowledge and found the "Wiring a Lockup-Converter Pressure Switch." Mine has that little silver thing where all but one wires go too! How can I make this work in my truck? The same as the article?? I don't want to have the lockup on a toggle switch, too much to think about when driving! What I want to do with this truck is drive it around and drag race it, and have a B&M pro ratchet shifter too. The tranny I'm swapping out is a sm465.

Thanks for your help!!

Caleb
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	700r4 valve body.JPG
Views:	1028
Size:	135.0 KB
ID:	35727  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2009, 04:28 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 75GMCman
Hi everyone! Last week I got my hands on a 700r4 (out of a 89 wrangler) for my 75 gmc. I haven't bought a book for it yet. I looked in the knowledge and found the "Wiring a Lockup-Converter Pressure Switch." Mine has that little silver thing where all but one wires go too! How can I make this work in my truck? The same as the article?? I don't want to have the lockup on a toggle switch, too much to think about when driving! What I want to do with this truck is drive it around and drag race it, and have a B&M pro ratchet shifter too. The tranny I'm swapping out is a sm465.

Thanks for your help!!

Caleb
Sliver thing is Temp sensor,not needed. If trans gets hot it will cause the TC clutch to lock just like when the 4th gear pressure switch senses pressure.
12V from brake light switch to PinA on case should do it. 4or5Pin brake switch will disegage TCC when you depress pedal. Most don't use the vacuum switch, causes to much TCC cycling.
http://www.smokemup.com/tech/700r4.php
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2009, 04:45 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
another reason for the temp switch is also to prevent lockup from coming in while the trans is coming up on operating temp....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:49 AM
75GMCman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Zurich, Ontario
Age: 24
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had in my head for wiring it up is hooking the solenoid to the brake switch then black from the solenoid to the pressure switch. How could I wire it with the temp senser or should I just leave it out?

Thanks!!

Caleb
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:16 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
you can leave it out if you want... i would go through the pressure switch (normally open) through the 4th gear port before the lockup solenoid. ive done several of these this way and it works great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:37 AM
75GMCman's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Zurich, Ontario
Age: 24
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks for the reply! If I hooked it up my way won't it work because when it goes into 4th won't it complete the circuit?

(tnsmith10) you can leave it out if you want... i would go through the pressure switch (normally open) through the 4th gear port before the lockup solenoid. ive done several of these this way and it works great.

Just so I understand this run the power from the brake switch to pressure switch, then to the solenoid and black wire hook it up to ground somewhere. Also Can I use the stock pressure switch?

Thanks!
Caleb
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2009, 10:44 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
yes, i believe it should., this is just the way i do it. cause i only run 1 wire.. so its constant 12v all the time. and the switch being normally open wont know the difference till 4th comes in.
yes as long as its a normally open switch... an ohms test will tell you what typ of switch it is...
and you can just put an eyelet on the black wire off the solenoid to the valve body to use as a ground. leaves a simple 1 wire setup.
it'll come out of lockup either when you hit the brake, or when it drops out of 4th.

Last edited by tnsmith10; 01-21-2009 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 lockup internal wiring gearhead77 Transmission - Rearend 2 04-16-2008 07:14 AM
Need help wiring my 700r4 409guru Transmission - Rearend 3 01-21-2008 02:02 PM
700R4 LockUp wiring diagram chevychase Transmission - Rearend 7 07-30-2007 09:23 PM
Wiring switch for 700R4 dontnobetter Electrical 3 11-15-2006 12:26 AM
700r4 wiring questions murrsue Transmission - Rearend 4 02-04-2005 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.