700R4 wiring? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:45 PM
DirtyDoug's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: denver
Age: 40
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700R4 wiring?

I have an 81 chevy sub 4x4. It was an original Diesel. Now it has a 350/700r4. The 4 prong connecter on the tranny only has one wire going to it. I was told that is why the tranny does not work right. The tranny slips going into 3rd gear. Once it is in 3rd it doesnt slip anymore. I would like to get a wiring diagram so I could wire it correctly. Any clues on where I can get one?
Thanks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2004, 06:06 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,151
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 384
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
the wire has nothing to do with the shifting, only the torque converter clutch.

Do you have the TV cable for the 700 tranny hooked up and adjusted correctly?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:17 AM
zonk's Avatar
Home Built Rods No Rules
 

Last journal entry: Home Made Sheetmetal bender plans
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 2 acres country Iowa
Age: 57
Posts: 749
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the 700r4 is originally out of a diesel I believe that they where configured differently in the valve body than one for a gas engine you might not get the response out of a diesel trans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2004, 09:34 PM
DirtyDoug's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: denver
Age: 40
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I put the tv cable in the original holding spot. I have an edelbrock carb on it now. I am wondering if that is affecting the tv cable and if so do i need to purchase a new mounting bracket for it. I have never adjusted a tv cable before. Is there a site i can find the specs or is it a hit and miss ordeal adjusting it? Thanks for info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2004, 05:25 AM
zonk's Avatar
Home Built Rods No Rules
 

Last journal entry: Home Made Sheetmetal bender plans
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 2 acres country Iowa
Age: 57
Posts: 749
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
http://www.73-87.com/7387garage/drivetrain/tvcable.htm
maybe this will help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 07:57 AM
stu stu is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Age: 74
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try here.http://www.tvmadeez.com

Last edited by M&M CUSTOM; 12-30-2004 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:12 AM
DirtyDoug's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: denver
Age: 40
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys that helped alot. My carb didnt have a stud for the tv cable. I bought one for a holley and it worked. I adjusted the tv cable and it seems to be shifting fine now. Now I only have a last question. I only have one wire going to the 4 prong connector. Can i make the one wire work, and If so which hole should I connect it to. What would happen if I ran it with out haveing and wires connected to it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 11:15 AM
stu stu is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Age: 74
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That is to unlock the convertor when you step on the brake, accelerate or come to a stop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 01:47 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,151
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 384
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Cool

the 700 needs to lock the converter in OD to avoid the tranny getting hot.

Is the tranny built for lock up or non lock operation?

Is the tranny built to run one wire lockup? If so , install the 12 volt wire into the front outer "A" hole location of the 4 pin case connector. The location is as if you are sitting in the car.

If not set for a one wire lock up , the tranny may need a ground to the connector too. IF a ground wire is neded try the "D" location..... right behind the "A" location in the 4 pin connector
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2004, 10:04 PM
DirtyDoug's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: denver
Age: 40
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The tranny came out of an 86 sub, and it had the correct connector on it,, i was dumb and didnt grab the connector when i got the tranny. I will give the a and d wiring a shot and see what happens,, Thanks again for the info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.