700r4 wont downshift into 1st when floored - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:29 PM
80's Reject
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MD
Age: 30
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 wont downshift into 1st when floored

First post here cuz i really need help. When my 700r4 transmission shifts into second under light acceleration it will not downshift back into first under WOT. I have an edelbrock performer carb with the 700r4 tv cable corrector plate that bolts to the throttle. I set the tv cable up so that it is fully pulled out at WOT which results in no tension on the tv cable at idle. When i say no tension i dont mean its sloppy its right at the point where if it were to be pulled it would start to pull the throttle valve in the tranny. I am hoping someone here has had a similer problem and knows the culpret. Please HELP!!!!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 01:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: spring, tx
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i used one of those correctors and the suck!!!take it of and tighten ur cable besides that cable is the line pressure on the trans if its to loose u will burn it up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 06:21 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,060
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 316
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
I have used these carb geometry corrector brackets and they work well.

There is something else incorrect here to cause the cable to have 'slack' in it when the throttle is closed.

Perhaps something inside the trans linkage?

Is the TV cable level as it is mounted near the carb?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 04:15 PM
80's Reject
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MD
Age: 30
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
I have used these carb geometry corrector brackets and they work well.

There is something else incorrect here to cause the cable to have 'slack' in it when the throttle is closed.

Perhaps something inside the trans linkage?

Is the TV cable level as it is mounted near the carb?

so im assuming the cable should be pulled out some at idle? if so how much? the cable is mounted to a bracket that bolts to the intake mainifold. the mounting point where the cable meets the mounting bracket is about one inch below the mounting point on the carb. do you think this would cause the problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 06:49 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Yes the TV cable should be pulled out slightly at idle. The normal adjustment procedure is to go by a pressure gage and pull the cable out just until you see a pressure increase and that is your idle position. Without the pressure gage you can try 1/8" or 1/4" out at idle.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 08:50 PM
80's Reject
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MD
Age: 30
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
anyone else have any insight on this topic? if it is the mainifold mount bracket anyone know of any nexpense carb mount brackets that fit edelbrock and wont rust? (please no chrome plated ones)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-30-2009, 09:00 PM
80's Reject
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MD
Age: 30
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thank you vince. thats what i needed to know. time to go bracket shoping....AGAIN. thinking about it they should not even sell manifold mounted brackets due to the fact that all manifolds are different hights then you also got the carb spacer to consider... sigh wish i thouht of that before i bought that bracket.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-31-2009, 09:33 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
I used the Lokar cable bracket on my 34, it bolts to the carb mounting flange instead of the manifold. I also have a 1" phenolic carb spacer and it causes no problem with the trans TV cable bracket. I am also using the Holley 700R4 bracket on the carb.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2009, 05:33 PM
80's Reject
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: MD
Age: 30
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It wasnt the tv cable.... any ideas? new tv cable new tv cable bracket all set up properly wih the carb adjuster plate for the 700r4. set it up so cable would self adjust to proper settings which is all out at WOT and about an 1/8 inch out at idle. throttle cable is set up properly as well. tranny fluid has 5k miles on it and is at the correct level. i knew trans ams were cursed but damn. tranny governor is set up to shift at 5k and under light throttle shifts at the correct points. are 700r4s known for this problem? only other variable i can think ofis the shift cable, but i gets all four gears in drive. why wont my tranny shift back down to first at 15mph under WOT!?????????????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700R4 won't shift out of 1st gear metalhead2910 Transmission - Rearend 15 09-24-2008 06:04 PM
Turbo 400 - poor downshift 2nd to 1st tonykof Transmission - Rearend 2 08-01-2007 10:02 AM
700r4 no downshift njbloodline666 Transmission - Rearend 7 07-23-2006 02:46 PM
700r4 3-2 downshift timing MudBoggn Transmission - Rearend 0 04-17-2005 09:21 PM
Need advice: 700R4 banging in 1st 360Camaro Transmission - Rearend 11 11-20-2003 06:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.