700R4 won't shift out of 1st gear - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700R4 won't shift out of 1st gear

I've got a 700R4 that i put in exactly one week before it died. Ran fine for the week, but on the last day i noticed it stalled twice, and a slight rpm bogdown in deceleration. The stalling it had done before, bad exhaust leak. Anyhow, after a very light amount of "gunning it" and coming to a stop, it won't shift from 1st gear. It will go into reverse. Also, if i put it in say, 1st or second gear, and try to shift(on the column) into 3rd or Drive, or even neutral, it die's, shakes, and stops. I was low on fluid, but even after replacing the fluid, doens't fix the problem. Possibly governor or clutch pack? Don't know much about transmissions, and any help would be MUCH appreciated!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 01:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also, there is a plug (maybe a sensor) that is on the bottom passenger side of the engine (5.7L 350) right above the oil pan, and just in front of the starter. Has a single white wire running from it into a harness, wire has been cut. THe guy who sold me the truck did a pretty "red-neck" job of electrical work on the truck. Could this wire have anything to do with my shift problem? Truck is a '90 Silverado, reg. cab, long box, 2WD. Again, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:21 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,217
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi,
Not shifting out of first could be a stuck throttle valve,
sometimes you can get them unstuck by removing the tv cable
from the linkage at the TB w/the engine running & in park
move the cable in & out very fast a few times, if this doesn't
work then you need to remove the valve body to get it unstuck.

Look at your knock sensor is there a wire on it, that cut wire may be for it.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Don't want to argue with you, I just don't want to do something without being positive. Why would the throttle valve have anything to do with it? The engine will "redline" with out upshifting. But if you do think that's what it is, what is the TV Cable. I know of the cable that goes into the tranny pan, i think it's called the "kickdown" cable? Where do I find it? THanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 03:34 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,217
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
The throttle valve will stick sometimes after a rebuild because
of a small piece of something gets in there & sticks it.

The correct name for your kick down cable is Throttle Valve Cable
because it goes from the throttle linkage to the throttle valve,
& down shifting isn't it's only function.

As for an argument you can't get one from me, I can only give
you information, what you do with it is up to you.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 03:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
in another thread we had a small conversation about putting fluid in the torque converter, and you said it won't self-prime with out that fluid. I did not put fluid ion my converter when i put the tranny in, and it didn't have any in it. Would this do damage to my transmission resulting in my shift problem? I appreciate the information, i just didn't want to offend you. THank you so much!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 06:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tried the jeerking it back and forth thing. Fluid level is good. Engine running and in PARK the TV cable goes for about a half inch before i feel strong pullback. If i pull it much farther it locks up and i have to push it back to its original point. With the engine off however it returns perfectly fine. I have no adjustment on this cable. Time to replace? Thanks!
Justin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-09-2008, 06:14 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,085
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 328
Thanked 100 Times in 96 Posts
The TV cable should pull out and return smoothly with the engine running or not.

It may be a cable problem or you may have an internal problem with the TV assembly inside the valve body.. If there is excessive wear in the TV bore , the valve can be hydraulically applied and held in the "full" applied position..

Have you checked the governor plastic gear yet?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 09:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Governor and gear were fine. I had a brand new one sitting around so I threw it a and a new cap on just for insurance. I did the trick rich said and the TV cable stopped hanging up. I took it down the road and it shifted into 2nd smoothly at 15mph. Wouldn't hit third...took it back home and wiggled the cable again. Test drove it again and it hit 3rd at about 35mph, but sounded and felt like a real weak shift. Maybe weak isn't the word, but it wasn't normal. It hit 4th gear about 45-50mph. But at 60mph cruising speed my RPM's were quite high...and I never felt the torque conveter "lock-up" like it used to. Maybe the 4-pin connector on the driver side of the tranny? Anyone know if that controls "lock-up"? Thanks Crosley.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 12:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK new problem. It wasn't shfting into 4th gear...i don't think. With the lock-up connector in place at about 45mph the RPM's lightly dropped, but were still abnormally high. Don't have a tach so I can't say how high. However i stopped and unplugged it and ran threw the gears. At a higher RPM in 3rd gear i felt a REALLY soft chug, but didn't shift. I'm thinking the tcc was locking up in 3rd gear, making me think it was 4th. So does anyone know a reason I'm not shifting into 4th gear properly? Fluid level is a little high, would that affect it? Somebody please help, I'm desperate and running out of time!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2008, 04:41 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,217
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Did you readjust the tv cable?

if you don't know how click the link, then at the bottom of that
page how to adjust the tv bla bla, it's a pdf
instruction sheet w/pictures
http://www.google.com/search?client=...=Google+Search
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I sure did, another adjustment to the TV cable and it still wasn't hitting locl-up. I was going down the road to pick up another transmission and all of a sudden it hit lock-up! Everything shifts smoothly, and locks-up just fine. Isn't that just nutty? ANyway, thanks to all that helped!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2008, 01:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: alberta, canada
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey there rich, i am having the same problem as metal head. just put a new tranny in and it won't shift either. you mentioned in your first response that pulling the tv cable rapidly a few times might release a jam, which i tried without success. then you advise to remove the valve body to get it unstuck...where is the valve body? do i need to drop the pan, or is it where the tv cable meets the tranny? any info you can give me would be greatly appreciated! thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2008, 11:08 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 69
Posts: 2,217
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi Fred,
The valve body is what your looking at when you drop the pan,
but before you do that make sure the TV valve or cable is not sticking like metalheads was, if that's OK, then take the car for a ride get going around 25 mph & hit the gas peddle a few times HARD, you know hit it hard let it up & repeat do this a few times, if that doesn't free it up then the pan needs to come down, they'll do this for you at a trans shop for about$65.
Good luck,
Rich

http://www.tvmadeez.com/article/index.php

http://www.cpttransmission.com/tech_tvcable.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2008, 07:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: alberta, canada
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thank you kindly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4l60e First Gear Wont Shift chevy71z Introduce Yourself 5 08-11-2008 10:58 AM
700r4 tranny not shifting out of 1st dmd02769 Transmission - Rearend 3 09-21-2006 09:45 PM
700R4 will not shift into 3rd and 4th gear bebopwally Transmission - Rearend 14 05-25-2006 07:48 PM
Transgo Shift kit "stick mode" 700r4 eliotmansfield Transmission - Rearend 11 05-03-2005 08:22 AM
700r4 shift times is this ok? evltwin Transmission - Rearend 1 04-23-2004 06:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.