72 Chevy truck 350? for monte - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2006, 06:45 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

72 Chevy truck 350? for monte

Hey guys im new at this site and rebuilding . I am a machinist and mechanic by trade and i have rebuilt a 400 small block with a freind about 15 years ago. I found a 72 chevy full size truck with a 350 with 350 turbo transmission( im told this is a four bolt main.... is this true?). i also found a pretty good 85 Monte carlo that the 305 is blown in it but it has headers, holley high rise intake, and a 650 Holley. My plan is to rip out the 350 and have it bored .030 over and build it. WHat im looking for is the low end put you in the seat, real fast 0-60. I guess my first question would be ... are there any tried and true parts for doing this or is it all up to the user. Has anyone built a really kickass 350 and if you have could you share maybe some part lists so i can start. Any data would be great like hp and torque. thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2006, 09:25 PM

definately do it right

Hey I have an 84' Monte Carlo Super Sport with a 305 H.O. and I have built it up to the point that I am told I am either just at or just over 500 HP. This may not seem possible but trust me it puts you in your seat in any gear (when my tranny was working correctly). Anyway the bottom end is completely stock and I have added a whole lot of bolt-ons everything from a cam to roller rockers (check out my post a few days ago for more details) but I could prescribe a few things to snap your neck, just write back and tell me where you would like to start.
Old 04-13-2006, 05:25 AM
Analog man in a digital world.