77 turbo 400 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2012, 08:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
77 turbo 400

I installed a used 400 turbo, but it will not shift. I have checked the govener, and installed a new modulator, that I have adjusted 2 times so far, but it still does not shift. Any help will be nice

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 10:13 AM
TexasT's Avatar
Did you ever wonder?
 

Last journal entry: Got it moving under its own power
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 153
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Is this a known good unit? You saw it shift before? Or is is used and no telling what could be wrong?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 09:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is a known good unit. from a running vehicle. The only thing that I have not done is pull the pan and gear box. I think that maybe next on the list. I have read a few other things for trouble shooting in the Chilton manual.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 10:21 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 405
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Do you have proper manifold vacuum to the modulator? Checked at the modulator to verify vacuum?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2012, 09:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
vacum

I thought a vacum is a vaum, but I made sure new hose was new and small clams to ensure they did not slip off. The vacum I have is located just behind the carb, I would say half way between the carb and distributor. There is no obstructions in the vacume, should there be??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2012, 09:47 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,173
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 405
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzco View Post
I thought a vacum is a vaum, but I made sure new hose was new and small clams to ensure they did not slip off. The vacum I have is located just behind the carb, I would say half way between the carb and distributor. There is no obstructions in the vacume, should there be??

nope. Vacuum is not vacuum,

The Vacuum feed to the trans modulator must be direct manifold vacuum. It needs to raise and fall with engine load (throttle opening) so the modulator receives the proper signal to control pressure inside the transmission.

One side effect of low or no vacuum is ''no upshifts''

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2012, 10:40 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 598 Times in 547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzco View Post
I thought a vacum is a vaum, but I made sure new hose was new and small clams to ensure they did not slip off. The vacum I have is located just behind the carb, I would say half way between the carb and distributor. There is no obstructions in the vacume, should there be??
If you are taking the vacuum from the intake, you are OK. The vacuum line need no restriction in it.

After reinstalling the trans have you rechecked the fluid level in Park w/the engine running?

Be careful using clamps on small diameter rubber tubing. Many of the small hose clamps will actually distort the tubing because they don't go that small, so if you use a clamp, use one like:


And NOT like:

The line has to fit tightly onto the nipples at both ends and there can be no splits or cracks in the rubber or steel lines at all. If you plug one end of the modulator line and pull a vacuum w/your mouth or a vacuum pump on the other end, the vacuum should hold for as long as you apply the vacuum. Same for the modulator itself- it has to hold a vacuum and the plunger has to retract when vacuum is applied to it.

Last edited by cobalt327; 07-17-2012 at 10:49 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2012, 07:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, I did ensure that proper amount of fluid was in the transmission. I put the rear end up on jacks and shifted to reverse and drive. Then I made sure the kick down switch is working, by listening to the click inside the tranny. The hose goes from he manifold stright to the modulator, the small clamps shown above were use. I have checked and rechecked twice, so it seems that I will need to pull the pan and gear box for a cleaning. Any other ideas before, I get to this sloppy job, LOL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2012, 11:06 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 598 Times in 547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzco View Post
Yes, I did ensure that proper amount of fluid was in the transmission. I put the rear end up on jacks and shifted to reverse and drive. Then I made sure the kick down switch is working, by listening to the click inside the tranny. The hose goes from he manifold stright to the modulator, the small clamps shown above were use. I have checked and rechecked twice, so it seems that I will need to pull the pan and gear box for a cleaning. Any other ideas before, I get to this sloppy job, LOL
The term "gear box" usually refers to a manual transmission in its entirety. If you are taking off the tranny pan the next thing you will see is the filter (which should be changed while its apart) and the valve body and associated shift linkages, kick down solenoid, etc.

If you take the VB off, pay attention to the check balls- don't lose any. Removing the valve body (VB) will also mean replacing the gaskets. One way of getting the gaskets is to but a shift kit like from TransGo (B&M are more expensive and not as good IMO- ymmv). If you have a tranny shop in your area or a good guy at the NAPA counter you can buy them separately. There's a page on the TH400 here for reference. It's based on a thread originally posted by a good tranny guy, jakeshoe.

Use plenty of kitty litter under the tranny for any spillage. Remove the pan bolts in such a way that one side will tip down to drain about half the fluid before you take the pan all the way off. I'd suggest you wear goggles and old clothes. But unless you have a lift or are very careful, you're bound to get old ATF all over the place.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 06:07 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Are you using Rubber Hose all the way from the Manifold to the Trans Modulator?
It may be collapsing. Should have Metal line with short Rubber Hose at each end.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2012, 11:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks to all that replied. In the end there was a very small hair line crack at the rear of the tranny on the passenger side. I rebuilt a 350 turbo, put a shift kit in it and on the rack it is shifting into all gears, so i will keep all of you posted. Thanks for all the help. Hipe I can repay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
th400

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 turbo vs 400 turbo stoplight king Transmission - Rearend 3 04-23-2009 05:57 AM
Turbo 350 Vs. Turbo 400 79chevy4x4 Transmission - Rearend 10 11-19-2006 09:43 PM
350 turbo to 400 turbo swap in lemans?? mtmniles Transmission - Rearend 8 01-24-2006 01:40 AM
Turbo 350,Turbo 400,700R4,Or Muncie 4 Speed nightrain_rod Transmission - Rearend 2 04-18-2003 01:35 PM
400 turbo to 350 turbo problems mikeweyman Transmission - Rearend 2 04-02-2003 06:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.