78' Chevy C10 Pickup transmission problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2011, 09:29 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

78' Chevy C10 Pickup transmission problems

I have a 78' Chevy C10 Pickup, 350 SBC, not sure what Tranny I have. Maybe 350. I'm still new and this is my first build. Everything was running fine yesterday, near perfect except the small leak I have in my exhaust Manifold due to bad gaskets.

So yesterday, my tranny dipstick did not show it was full, and I checked while it was hot. A friend told me today that it could be an after market dipstick that did not reach all the way. I added 1 QT of Fluid. Did not drive it after that.

Today, I started up, let it warm up, and started down the street when my fluid started leaking, actually what happened was the hose that connected to my radiator that runs tranny fluid through it blew off like it was under serious pressure. I pretty sure I lost all of my fluid. I parked my truck and hooked the hose back up and my truck would not accelerate that good. I let the truck sit all day.

So this evening I added 1 QT of fluid and the truck started up fine. The dip stick still shows that more needs to be added. I tried to drive my truck and it does not move at all after I shift. When I put it in reverse it shakes a little bit, like it wants to move but it doesn't.

First, I think I added fluid when it did not need any and that is what caused the hose to be under pressure and blow off.