79 blazer and no lights - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-25-2009, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 82
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
79 blazer and no lights

I have been playing with a 79 Blazer. I noticed I had a burned out headlight, so I replaced that, before I put the new on in, I hooked it up to test it. It didn't come on, then I noticed that I had no headlights. I looked, no taillights either. i turned my hazards on, and I had turn signals, front and rear. I checked the fuses, and I ended up putting a new headlight switch in. Unfortunately, this did not fix the problem. Where should I look next? The last tinkering I did was to put a new starter in. When I did that, i happened to notice a wire on the harness near the starter that was cut. I doubt its related, but just thought i'd throw it out there.
Thanks,
Chris

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-25-2009, 12:03 PM
C-10's Avatar
Revolution Calling
 

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashport, Ohio
Posts: 920
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Quote:
i happened to notice a wire on the harness near the starter that was cut. I doubt its related
Better follow up on that wire, I bet it's the one. Turn signals are on a different circuit.
.
.
.
"Dollars are like votes, except that they actually count."
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-25-2009, 03:33 PM
DaSouthWon's Avatar
I put up the tools against$300
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis,Tennessee
Age: 35
Posts: 683
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Check the power to the switch first. If none of the lights are working I would bet your not getting current there since most switches redistribute a single voltage source to the different lighting circuits. Your hazards run independently of the lighting switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2009, 05:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
The main power feed comes up from the starter post through a metal tube next to the exhaust manifold, and then to the junction on the firewall (its just to the passenger side of the brake booster). In most cases it will have a 14 gauge fusible link connected to the 10 gauge wire that runs to the starter. All the other power feeds come off this point. The wire running to the passenger side is for the HVAC blower; the wires running to the right are for the fuse box and any auxiliary power you have (dual battery, camper lights, etc.).

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2009, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 82
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Checked what you guys have thankfully offered, still no lights, any other suggestions??????
Thanks
Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2009, 07:35 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
If the dash lights come on, but headlights don't work, the next point to check is the dimmer switch on the floor.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:28 PM
DaSouthWon's Avatar
I put up the tools against$300
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Memphis,Tennessee
Age: 35
Posts: 683
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Are you getting voltage to the + side of the switch?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2009, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 82
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have the wire that runs to the starter hooked back up, and still nothing. Anything else I can check for?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.