83 buick 231v6 with Rochester dualjet - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine> Modern Electronic Engines
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 12:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
83 buick 231v6 with Rochester dualjet

Guys i got old carburetor rebuilt but i had to remove all vacumn lines in my haste i didnt mark the vacuum lines i took pictures well the pictures arent quite clear enough does anyone know how these lines are to be setup i have no smog pump i deleted this due to no catalytic converter this is legal in ohio and transmission is a th350 does anyone know where i can find a clear diagram This is my first electronic carb rebuild also after carb was rebuilt due to it spewing fuel allover the engine im having major throttle delay at any point of acceleration heavier than quarter throttle and engime stalls when stopped uphill unless throttle is slightly held open im thinking either misadjusted electric choke or bad vacuum line setup help guys please not alotta information on the vacuum lines online

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 01:31 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 202
Thanked 256 Times in 238 Posts
Do you have a scanner hooked up to see what is going on?
Is the check engine light on?
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 03:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No the check engine light has been doing this since as well mind you this is a rear whleel drive cutlass turn the engine over thw light fashes and ends with the same code then stops flashing until key is tuned back and engine resarted then repeats and when driving no also i believe oil pump is worn out low oil pressure at ligh
tz by light and guage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also its throttle response worsens after thermostat opens
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2012, 07:43 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 202
Thanked 256 Times in 238 Posts
What code does it flash?
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 11:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It flashes 13 twice then no longer flashes until car is restared ive never seen this before also after flashing stops carb clicks heavily for a few seconds and stops until throttle is reopened could tps be bad also fast idle for ac i dont believe is functioning my ac doesnt funtion anyway but im at a loss on ths carb was proffesionally rebuilt by national carbs supposedly live engine tuned i believe its carb i dont think it ignition because revs fine out of gear in gear it fa
lls flat on face
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 11:44 AM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 202
Thanked 256 Times in 238 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 83 cutlass View Post
It flashes 13 twice then no longer flashes until car is restared ive never seen this before also after flashing stops carb clicks heavily for a few seconds and stops until throttle is reopened could tps be bad also fast idle for ac i dont believe is functioning my ac doesnt funtion anyway but im at a loss on ths carb was proffesionally rebuilt by national carbs supposedly live engine tuned i believe its carb i dont think it ignition because revs fine out of gear in gear it fa
lls flat on face
Code 13 is an oxygen sensor problem, either the sensor or the wiring to it.
The carb will"click" for about 30 seconds when first turning on the key. It is normal. It is the Mixture solenoid cycling on and off.The computer is doing that, it helps engine on start up.
Vacuum hoses arent going to cause your problem, unless they are leaking. Plugging them wont change much.
The MAP sensor though, ...has to have manifold vacuum, and if it is unhooked the car will run rich and without much timing.
Check the MAP sensor to be sure it is hooked up.
Plug the EGR hose for the time being to eliminate it from the loop.
Verify base timing.
I have a hunch the float level may be too low also. How did you set it?
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I personally did not rebuild the carb i sent it out to be rebuilt i did make the final adjustment also im confused on the map sensor ive been to ld this engine doesnt have one by my local parts stores
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:20 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 202
Thanked 256 Times in 238 Posts
It could be built into the Computer.
Look athe wiring harness for the engine sensors. There could be a tiny vacuum hose in it. That will go to the computer as the sensor could be built in. Those early years were a formative bunch for GM as they didnt have it all together, so it can be a guessing game.
Most of the time the sensor is underhood.Many years they were mounted on the air cleaner housing
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Will check into that in a few moments rockauto does show one with an electrical socket
I appreciate the ideas latech
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:32 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 202
Thanked 256 Times in 238 Posts
Youre welcome. Good luck.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I found the map sensor its on air cleaner the tubing looks good my question is how to check it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also how do yoh adjust the float in the carb not sure about this setup i may just go vacuum advanced and 450 cfm 4 barrel with mechanic secondaries
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 12:56 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 202
Thanked 256 Times in 238 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 83 cutlass View Post
I found the map sensor its on air cleaner the tubing looks good my question is how to check it
If its hooked up, and in place, plugged in and all, its probably OK.
You could check for trouble codes. If it has a problem it will display a code 33.
You can, if you want, unplug it while the engine is running. It should make it run worse. That would indicate that it is probably working.
just remember unplugging it while running will set a code 33.
Look here for more info on T codes.
http://www.troublecodes.net/GM/
Good info ....may help
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2012, 01:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It shows code 33 when unhooked so i would say it works is the float adjustments made on top of choke tower or that the metering rods
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Modern Electronic Engines posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help ,rochester dualjet milan-ranflero Engine 2 11-29-2011 06:00 PM
rochester dualjet help hcker2000 Engine 10 12-27-2007 12:32 PM
How metering rods work in Rochester Dualjet ? Olds 69 Engine 1 02-18-2005 02:56 PM
who knows something about rochester dualjet 210 carbuerator diAMID Engine 0 09-14-2004 02:36 AM
rochester dualjet 210 oakland_raiders Engine 4 01-03-2003 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.