84 700R4.... No computer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brier, wa
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
84 700R4.... No computer

anyone using a mid 80's (84) 700R4 without the computer. Looking for how to control the lockup. I know how to release the lockup thru brake light switch and low vacuum switch but not how to tell the trans WHEN to lockup.
Not looking for a link to the 80-125 dollar kits, looking to do it myself.
I saw the wiring diagram in the stickies but I don't think that will work will it? that one is assuming you have the ecm/pcm right?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 06:04 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,976
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 255
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fogrocker
I saw the wiring diagram in the stickies but I don't think that will work will it? that one is assuming you have the ecm/pcm right?

Thanks
no , you are incorrect in the thinking on the sticky info
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 06:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brier, wa
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4

so that wiring circuit will work....
pin A?
No computer whatso ever...

Cool
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 07:58 PM
cool rockin daddy's Avatar
1.21 giga-watts???!!!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wherever cool cars are
Posts: 1,535
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
What am I missing here. In '84 the transmissions were 2004R's. No computer control at all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 08:20 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,976
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 255
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cool rockin daddy
What am I missing here. In '84 the transmissions were 2004R's. No computer control at all.
you are missing the fact you are incorrect.

there were 700r4 trans in 1984 and earlier
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 08:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brier, wa
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700

Drive train is from a 84 z 28
305/700R4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 08:43 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,976
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 255
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
the 1984 trans will have many switches and wires on the valve body.

the 12 volt power to pin "A" and a ground wire to "D" may not provide lock up of the converter clutch
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 09:28 PM
cool rockin daddy's Avatar
1.21 giga-watts???!!!!
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: wherever cool cars are
Posts: 1,535
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
'84 the first year for the 700?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 09:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brier, wa
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
no puter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
the 1984 trans will have many switches and wires on the valve body.

the 12 volt power to pin "A" and a ground wire to "D" may not provide lock up of the converter clutch
Ok... im lost... I said that the diagram would not work for my trans without other mods... you said I was wrong, implying that the diagrammed circuit would work... now you say that it wont work... I'm configeled now...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 10:33 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,976
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 255
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fogrocker
Ok... im lost... I said that the diagram would not work for my trans without other mods... you said I was wrong, implying that the diagrammed circuit would work... now you say that it wont work... I'm configeled now...
nope,

your comment was :

Quote:
I saw the wiring diagram in the stickies but I don't think that will work will it? that one is assuming you have the ecm/pcm right?
No PCM - ECM is required. The sticky shows a wire to hook up to 12 volt source. That can be any 12 volt source with the ignition in the "run" posiition.

You need 12 volts to the lock up solenoid and a method to provide a ground if the solenoid is a 2 wire solenoid.

Your old trans 1984, may have a 1 wire solenoid. There may be a proper pressure switch currently on your valve body. You need a "N-O" switch. N-O mean normally open.

Pressure switch in the proper v-body hole for lock up in over-drive and you are good to go.

I would suggest trying the 12 volt wire in to the "A" pin hole and ground wire in to the "D" pin hole. The transmission may lock up the converter in 4th gear only or it may lock the converter up in 2 , 3 and 4th gears as the early 700r4 was setup like that
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2011, 03:54 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,976
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 255
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
here is a page in the Crankshaft Wiki with photos , better explanation :

clik here
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 do i need the computer for it to run??? HANK B Engine 16 05-18-2011 11:53 AM
Swapping my engine from computer to No computer,whats the best way?? Schoust Engine 3 03-26-2010 02:31 PM
How do u wire a 700r4 with a computer saskroughriders Transmission - Rearend 15 08-13-2009 05:30 PM
4.3 Distributor computer to non computer grumpy1 Electrical 6 04-19-2007 05:37 PM
700R4 with Vortec Computer Controlled Engine capps Transmission - Rearend 2 07-30-2005 02:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.