Hot Rod Forum banner

87 firebird 305 to 350 questions

2K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  xierxior 
#1 ·
my trans am has a 305-stock in it now with bad head gaskets, I want to put a gmr 350/350 circle track engine in it.
now can I bolt on the existing assories alternator all the brackets tpi injection?
if so will it pass emission in il?
would it also bolt onto the motor mounts fine?

#2 ·
sorry i'm new to this whole high performance thing, this would be my first high performance car or mid perforance :)
couple more questions. the gm webpage says it uses spechial twist off bolts on the heads oil pan etc, does that mean you can't remove them?
will it bolt to the stock transmission?

#3 ·
to make the circle track engine work in your application with computer will require quite a bit of cash and work, you`ll have to have, 350 tbi injectors, 350 computer, 350 knock sensor, and a custom made chip to create a timing curve and a fuel curve for the bigger engine. that is if the cam isn`t too big, TBI and computers don`t like big cams. Since your concerned with passing emissions, you may want to see if this swap is legal in your state before you even get started, lastly, after smogging it, it`s not gonna have much power being to pass emissions it`ll have to have a timing and fuel curve set to pass emissions which will make the swap a waste of time from the get go. your best bet? find a 350 out of a pickup truck along the same years, use it`s computer and other items I already mentioned, step up to a slightly bigger cam, a low restriction exhaust, a k & n airfilter, have the heads bowl ported, and get a stage 2 chip for it, it`ll make lots of torque, and that`s what you`ll need for a heavy car like a firebird. it`ll make it a blast to drive and you`ll enjoy it a lot more. good luck.

#4 ·