Hot Rod Forum banner

88-98 Chevy sbsc 4x4 mt driveshaft length

3K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  cerial 
#1 ·
I have a sbsc with 305 nv3500 c1500.

I want to pull out the drivetrain and set a v8 500 6-8" back into the firewall. Behind the v8 will be a sm465 then a 8" prop shaft then a 12" aux transmission then the driveshaft in question then a ff14 bolt.

Now I believe a nv3500 mated to the transfer case is 47" long. If that is the case my 8" bell, 12" transmission, 8" prop and 12" transmission lets me set the back of the engine block back 7" and still use a factory rear shaft.

Although harder to find. If I can bolt in a factory shaft vs having one built I'm
going to try and find it.

#2 ·
Assuming aux. transmission means a "divorced" transfer case... I would think the rearmost driveshaft length would be among the least of your problems on that deal, in any event because you're using parts that would normally be found on a long-bed truck you'd likely be shortening things rather than needing them longer. Shortening is easy to do, just finding something heavy-duty w/ the right ends would be the main thing.

#4 ·
It is a aux transmission. Mine is a Watson 5531A. They are sometimes wrongly called brownies or brown lipe transmission. Brownie is used as a general term for any aux transmission pre 70 now a days.

My unit has 3 speeds. 1.52/1, direct, and .72/1. The sm465 has 6.55, 3.15, 1.7 and direct. The rear axle has 4.56 gearing.