9" or 12 bolt - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2003, 02:25 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

9" or 12 bolt

I am currently in the process of building a '50 Chev pickup, street rod style. This is my first project and I have been reading a lot of the info posted here and really appreciate the info I've seen.

My question is for possibly using a 12 bolt GM rear end under my truck. I have found a TON of info on Ford 9" rear ends. Widths, how to ID, ratios, what can and can't be narrowed, etc., etc.

So far I have not found information like this for GM rear ends.

My search has been centered around the 79 to 81 Lincoln or Granada with rear disk brakes. These rear ends are listed at 62" overall width (measured at the outside of the axle flange).

If a GM 12 bolt turns up before a Ford 9" does, I would hate to pass it by due to my lack of knowledge.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

H2Os50

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-17-2003, 03:11 PM

Location: I live in Rocklin, CA about 30 miles east of Sacramento.