'92 chevy lumina with a 3 spd auto. metric hydramatic tranny that needs help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2012, 02:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
'92 chevy lumina with a 3 spd auto. metric hydramatic tranny that needs help

I have a '92 chevy lumina with a 3.1multiport efi engine & a 3speed auto. Meric hydramatictrans. Has always ran great, engine still does. I went 2 a town 45 minutes away from my home, it drove fine the way there but on my way home it slowly began slipping & I had to keep giving it more gas to keep moving, I made it home but the next morning the car wouldnt moveat all. I checked the fluid & it was nice red & clean, didnt smell burnt or any sgns of getting hot period. I talked to a guy at a tranny shop & he said it was common issuewith that tranny & was a easy fix but would cost me $400 for him to fix it, but he wouldnt tell me what it was. So I need some help! Last night I pulled the trans. Out of a '91 olds cutlass supreme with same exact engine & a metric hydramatic trans. & was just gonna swap trannies, I didnt look close enough at the tranny because at a glance they looked the same. I pulled my lumina in my garage & I started to see differaances. So I then went back to the olds & looked at whether it was 3 or 4 speed auto, after shifting through each gear I realized it is a four speed auto hydramatic & it also has "metric div of gm hydramatic" my lumina is a 3 speed auto hydramatic. The pan on it says "metric hydramatic" but of course there are more differences, but looks like it would still bolt up. So im trying to figure out either what I need to fix on 3spd or if the 4spd will work & iff so how or what all needs to b done to make it work properly! Can u help me or at least s2eer me in the right direction?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2012, 05:37 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
The 3-speed should be a TH125C w/Lockup TC, the 4-speed should be a 440-T4 w/Lockup TC if it has a 4-Pin electrical connector.
440-T4 may work, someone on here will know for sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:10 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
if the fluid is red and doesnt smell burnt. drop the pan and check to see if the filter is plugged. if so, get another converter, and give it a new filter and put it back in. its not uncommon for the clutch lining in the converter to come apart and plug the filter.
did it make any whining or buzzing sounds?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The filter & fluid was the 1st & only thing done to it. As for the whinning, and/or pieces in the filter im not exactly sure? The tranny went out while my brother was driving it. My question to you is if the converter is bad/shot would it make nodise nodrev the enginew when i put it in gear and rev the engine? Also is it possible for the converter to go out without makingany noise? I also have a 4speed hydramatic would the converters be the same or interchangable? The four speed has a6 pin electrical plug in & the3 speed has a four pin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electrical 4 pin connector

The 3speed auto had a 4 pin but the 4speed auto has a six pin electrical connector, but are the tourqe converters interchangable?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2012, 08:09 PM
joshp83's Avatar
owner of Prices Garage
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: west virginia
Age: 31
Posts: 314
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
i guess could swap the 4 speed if u had every thing from the 4 speed car but it be a lot of work the 125 is cheap and dependable have it rebuilt should last u a long time . the converters will interchange diffrent stall speeds though wouldnt recomend puting a used converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2012, 09:29 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geri
The 3speed auto had a 4 pin but the 4speed auto has a six pin electrical connector, but are the tourqe converters interchangable?
the overdrive trans will not work. it is a 4t60E.. that is a computer controlled trans. not a 440t4 which is not. also, the 440t4 would have a tv cable...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:03 AM
joshp83's Avatar
owner of Prices Garage
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: west virginia
Age: 31
Posts: 314
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
i though t the mid size cars didnt get the 4t60 til 93 i know the olds 98 and caddiliac had them in 91
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2012, 07:04 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshp83
i though t the mid size cars didnt get the 4t60 til 93 i know the olds 98 and caddiliac had them in 91
not with a 6 pin connector. there were some very late 440t4's that came with a 5 prong connector and a tv cable. but a 6 pin connector and no tv cable is a 4T60E.
i high lighted the harness from my parts catalog to show.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4T60E internal harness.JPG
Views:	745
Size:	243.0 KB
ID:	62448  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2012, 04:21 PM
joshp83's Avatar
owner of Prices Garage
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: west virginia
Age: 31
Posts: 314
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
k i nkew they swtill made a 440 trans into the 90s had seen one in the shop 4 a few yrs there getting to be a antique
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2012, 05:05 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
by todays standards, they are now...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chevy lumina power window problem joe k Electrical 1 05-17-2009 05:12 PM
95 Chevy Lumina Van Stalling Problem blair2908 General Rodding Tech 3 10-05-2007 08:33 AM
91 s-10 auto tranny Prof. T. Soggmeyer Transmission - Rearend 5 04-22-2007 06:39 PM
torque specs for a flex plate on a chevy 350 to auto tranny badk5 Engine 1 07-01-2005 06:56 AM
350 chevy metric ring's 406 ss monte Engine 3 05-31-2004 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.