Hot Rod Forum banner

92 S10 Wiring Gauges

30K views 26 replies 4 participants last post by  EOD Guy 
#1 ·
I have a few question so please hang in there. I am an avid forum researcher and from my lack of knowledge or understanding....., I am left with a bunch of unknowns.

Stock Info: 92 Chevy S10 Reg cab 2.5L engine with 700r4
Current state: Pulled out motor and trans, will be installing a 383 carbed (no choke) paired with a TH400 3000 stall NO lockup tranny.

Removed ECM and ECM wiring (Passenger side wiring), Will be a track truck primarily, A/C components removed, will run heat only.

I want to run everything from the wiring coming from the gauge cluster.

Gauges and accessories I am looking to run.
-Speedometer, Tach, fuel, volts, water temp, and oil pressure gauges
-Flexalite 480 fan and aeromotive A100 fuel pump.

Here is my wiring diagram.

I am a little confused on how to hook up my gauges. I have built a gauge cluster to house my (5) gauges, turn signal lights, and hi beam indicator. My quest is to wire all this without a hitch. :sweat: The numbers below correspond with the wiring diagram in the instrument cluster.

1. Gray - Instrument lamp fuse - There are 3-4 of these, one is in the oil pressure sending unit wires, another in a relay and the other two went into the ECM but are not connect now. All these wires are spliced together with the main one coming out of the ignition harness. I just want to know what it is or does and if I need it? My guess is its for dummy light activation if so then why are they all spliced together from one, how would the gauge cluster know which light to activate?

2.Pink/Blk - 12V ignition - I believe this will be connected to all 5 of my gauges (+) post? Also needs to go to alternator (3 wire).

3.Brown - Alternator - Volts gauge send wire

4.Tan/Blk - ECM Pin A2/Up shift light? Not sure if I need it or what its good for in my application?