94 corvette - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 04:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
94 corvette

any one know if i can change the top end to my vet to carb and intake to get the fuel injetion off the car it want start any more

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 05:24 AM
hcompton's Avatar
Old & Furious
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MD
Age: 41
Posts: 1,074
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 87 Times in 84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.W. View Post
any one know if i can change the top end to my vet to carb and intake to get the fuel injetion off the car it want start any more
Sure can but its not easy. I did it with my 89 vette. But in a 94 it will cost more to remove than to have the dealer fix any issues.

Here are some of the gotchas

Trans in 94 is computer controlled.

Fuel pump 94 engine may not have machanical fuel pump area machined or no rod or lobe on the cam. Also the computer runs the fuel pump.

Speedo and dash cluster

Ac controls are powered by the computer and usally have issue working without it. My 89 only has no light now but other years have different issues.

You will need to buy intake for lt1 not gen one chevy engine.

I think the alum block lt1 is low tension piston rings with the rich carb these rings wont be happy and engine wont last as long as with efi.

Basicly without the computer most of your car will not work. Almost everything inside and your car has traction control and abs so a lot of important features will be unrepair able.

With an 89 where it is tpi and no power is going to be made with it then replacement makes since but with the lt1 manifold alot of power can be made with cam change, injectors and new tune and exhuast. Getting it fixed should only cost a few hundred bucks. Getting it fully replaced will cost into the thousands once all is said and done. Unless you are good with computer dash ssytems i would just get it fixed. also it does kill the value of a corvette not to have its original dash. My car had the benifit of having gone 300k miles so no one will buy it for collector value. Your 94 may still have some value on the stock form.

Fix it sell it and buy an 80 stingray. Then go ape with anything you want. It will actually add value to an 1980 but a 94 it will take away value. If that makes since. The 80 is already carb and everyone is happy not to see a computer controlled carb on a gm car. When they pop the hood. With the 94 they will not want to buy it once its that far gone.

When I did mine I replaced the engine and trans. With a older version of both none computer th700r4 and a gen one block that i rebuilt for carb use.

Fyi only the edelbrock performer and torker II will fit under the stock vette hood for the most part no good intakes fit the vette without larger hood or cutiing a hole in it. Also the performer is stock replacement manifold not real good power. The torker will make some power but will still be less than a proper manifold.

What is wrong with it. If it wont start that is usally an easy thing to fix. Running poorly now that can be hard to track down but they usally start even of they are messed up. Probably the fuel pump or fuel pump relay. Might be an easy fix.

Hope this helps.
94
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 07:04 AM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,014
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 320
Thanked 778 Times in 745 Posts
My sons father in law has a 94 vette.It has the LT-4 engine.If you have this option,fix it.If you manage a carb conversion,you will lose a lot of power/mileage and drive ability
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2012, 07:27 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,360
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 47
Thanked 149 Times in 141 Posts
Frankly a lot of guys who are in the know and who have taken the time to learn the systems are moving to computer controls for better fuel management and performance. So hit the books and study the workings of the system and fix what you have..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 06:53 PM
tnovot's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: North Central Illinois
Age: 71
Posts: 137
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.W. View Post
any one know if i can change the top end to my vet to carb and intake to get the fuel injetion off the car it want start any more
How do you even know if the FI is the cause of the no start condition? It could be something different or if caused by faulty FI, a simple fix.
Hcompton has it nailed
Terry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-29-2012, 07:07 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 209
Thanked 260 Times in 242 Posts
Like I allways say...check the basics.
Fuel pressure check the prime pressure.
Check for spark at the plugs
Check for injector pulse
No spark and no injector pulse is usually a crank sensor.
You can also pull trouble codes from the PCM, get history codes. If no history codes ...look for any pending(one trip) codes.
Post your results here...I will help you out.
You dont want to castrate that car by putting on a carb.
If you vette has an OBD 1 connector instead of OBD 2, you can get flash codes (check engine light) with a jumper wire in the diagnostic connector.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corvette Summer Corvette Front Clip MADTECH72 Body - Exterior 18 04-16-2008 07:45 PM
Corvette paperchaser Introduce Yourself 1 03-05-2006 01:16 PM
80 corvette kevindslinker Introduce Yourself 1 10-05-2005 07:09 AM
71 Corvette Beenaway2long Body - Exterior 7 06-17-2005 08:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.