'97 F-150 4.2L to 5.4L swap? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2003, 09:12 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question '97 F-150 4.2L to 5.4L swap?

I have a 1997 Ford F-150 with a weak 4.2L V6. I have been told that for my truck the best way to get more torque is to trash the 4.2 and swap in a 5.4 V8. This sounds great to me, since Ford has statred making so many Lightning's with the Supercharged 5.4L.

I have had no experience with working on, much less swapping out, computer controled engines. I know that I would probably need the complete engine and the wiring harness and computer from the doner truck. BUT REALLY? How much of a pain in the rear is this idea if I go through with it?

I have worked on, rebuilt and reinstalled old style small-blocks, but I don't know if this would be over my head.

I appretiate all comments and advice on this one.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-24-2003, 11:27 PM
Missing You

Last photo:

To get EVERYTHING for the computer off the donor truck would likely be quiet a chore, because you'd need EVERYTHING, for the tranny and rear end. I dunno, I don't see how it would pay off in the end. Cause its not like an old skool engine swap where you only have to worry about motor mounts and mating it to the tranny, with a computer, you've got all those sensors and stuff. Not to mention whats the difference in the V6 and V8 trannies?

Head over to www.ford-trucks.com. I think they have a forum specifically for your year model truck.
Old 11-02-2003, 07:11 PM

Thanks for the information.