98 astro van pcm install?no start? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2010, 12:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redondo beach ,CA
Age: 34
Posts: 335
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
98 astro van pcm install?no start?

I just installed a reman a1 cardone pcm in this van and it wont start I did have it flashed before I installed it.Ive looked at all the fuses and relays I checked the harness with a noid light and they are not pulsing so im confused a little alldata doesn't tell me anything on my computer.Which makes it a little frustrating.Cause I wasted a day in my shop on this one car so im losing out on flag hours and wanna get this car out of the shop.
any ideas?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2010, 07:41 AM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,293
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 220
Thanked 268 Times in 248 Posts
Did you check for base ignition spark (bypass spark while cranking) ?
If you dont have any spark at all and no injector pulse you probably have a bad crank sensor ( Also IMHO cardone is junk Bull**** . JMHO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2010, 07:50 AM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,293
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 220
Thanked 268 Times in 248 Posts
If the ignition module was bad you would have no spark but would still have injector pulse.
The pink wire is power to the cam sensor, crank sensor and Ignition coil. check at each component with the key on to be sure it isnt a wiring problem as you said you checked all the fuses. Engine 1 fuse powers the cam sensor and ecm 1 fuse powers the coil and the crankshaft sensor.
Did you check the ecm and the bcm for codes? The bcm will keep the engine from starting if it has an antitheft problem also.

Last edited by latech; 11-28-2010 at 07:55 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2010, 08:40 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,288
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 130 Times in 114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latech
Did you check for base ignition spark (bypass spark while cranking) ?
If you dont have any spark at all and no injector pulse you probably have a bad crank sensor ( Also IMHO cardone is junk Bull**** . JMHO.
I am with you, I would not buy tire valve caps from them. Probably more out of box failures than any electrical rebuiler out there. No respectable parts store in my area will even carry their products anymore.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2010, 08:42 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,288
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 130 Times in 114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzipenguins
I just installed a reman a1 cardone pcm in this van and it wont start I did have it flashed before I installed it.Ive looked at all the fuses and relays I checked the harness with a noid light and they are not pulsing so im confused a little alldata doesn't tell me anything on my computer.Which makes it a little frustrating.Cause I wasted a day in my shop on this one car so im losing out on flag hours and wanna get this car out of the shop.
any ideas?
What was teh original issue?
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2010, 08:55 AM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,293
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 220
Thanked 268 Times in 248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
I am with you, I would not buy tire valve caps from them. Probably more out of box failures than any electrical rebuiler out there. No respectable parts store in my area will even carry their products anymore.
Honestly, I have used them years back and I had at least a 50 percent failure rate within the first few minutes of installation.And another 25-30 percent in the first week or two. Nothing has changed either. Recently someone i know put a pcm in there 2001 jeep gr cherokee and it quit by the end of the week. I opened it up and looked inside and it was a mess. It was "reman " allright. Shoddy is all i can say to describe it and thats being nice.I would run a junkyard part before I would use cardone for ANYTHING.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redondo beach ,CA
Age: 34
Posts: 335
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got spark to the back of the plugs but no injector pulse its got good fuel pressure as well as the compression.
This car has had a new injector harness and fuel pump put in this year the customers original complaint was that it would shut off and not start again just crank.I tested the harness and found uneven voltage across the harness plug for the injector and everything else was good so we replaced the ecm.
Lol If i had the choice it would be factory ecms my service advisor is money conscience but cuts coners in the wrong spots.Out of curiosity I
sent the ecm back for an exchange saying it was defective but still nothing.We do alot of repair work but very few computers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2010, 06:09 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,288
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 130 Times in 114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonzipenguins
I got spark to the back of the plugs but no injector pulse its got good fuel pressure as well as the compression.
This car has had a new injector harness and fuel pump put in this year the customers original complaint was that it would shut off and not start again just crank.I tested the harness and found uneven voltage across the harness plug for the injector and everything else was good so we replaced the ecm.
Lol If i had the choice it would be factory ecms my service adviser is money conscience but cuts corners in the wrong spots.Out of curiosity I
sent the ecm back for an exchange saying it was defective but still nothing.We do a lot of repair work but very few computers.
Do you have power at the injectors ?
Have you checked for ground at all the ground pins at the ECM with the ECM unplugged.
Were the symptoms the same with the old ECM.
Do you still have the old ECM, if so do you get injector pulses with it. We never turn in the old one until we have some sort of resolve just for this type of situation. We always use factory ECMS, either from the dealer or the junk yard.
Something to consider is in 90% of the cases when an ECM goes bad there is something that took it out.
A lot of the same things that are required for spark are also required for injector pulses.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet

Last edited by T-bucket23; 11-30-2010 at 06:16 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2010, 10:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Redondo beach ,CA
Age: 34
Posts: 335
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I still have the old one and no pulses from it either I will check for the ground today and power
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2010, 07:10 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 932
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 79 Times in 72 Posts
A bad crank position sensor will casue a no start situation with good fuel pressure(at least 60 psi) and no injector pulse on a Vortec engine..
Also if you install a new PCM, you will need to do a VATS relearn or teh engine will start and run for 4-5 seconds then the engien will cut as the PCM shuts teh injectors off.

peace
Pauly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V8 Astro Van C10 Hotrodders' Lounge 24 02-28-2012 03:57 PM
Swaying Astro Van Ktaves1971 Suspension - Brakes - Steering 8 01-23-2005 08:03 PM
Astro Van SNAPONMAN Engine 2 11-08-2004 11:26 AM
Question about astro van transmission??? Robbie Transmission - Rearend 2 05-27-2004 01:50 PM
Has anybody used a Chev Astro van booster/master cylinder for the 48 chev truck tomy2tone01 Suspension - Brakes - Steering 2 04-07-2003 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.