Adding 2nd air tank to compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2004, 08:48 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,915
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Adding 2nd air tank to compressor

My compressor (220 volt/5hp motor) puts out adequate air, but it is a portable unit (read small) and therefore I run the tank out pretty quickly when I use certain air tools. I'd like to plumb a second tank into the system but use quick release couplings to do it so I can still have the portability if I might need it. Anybody have a two tank system or know how I can plumb in the second unit? Can I just insert the new tank in the line between the compressor and the original tank?

Dewey

    Advertisement
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2004, 09:03 PM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,226
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 38
Thanked 126 Times in 122 Posts
Yup

Just place the other tank inline..got the same setup tho I am thinking of getting a larger compressor as mine is way small..works fine for one guy..

Still have to stop and let the compressor catch up tho not so often..
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-14-2004, 09:28 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,915
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks, I'll take a swing at it tomorrow.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2004, 02:52 AM
Old enough to know better
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 417
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mine is set up exactly that way. I picked up a large (200 gallon) tank for cheap. I feed the line from the tank on the compressor in one end of the biggie and take my air out the other end. Everything is fitted with quick couplings. The side benefit I discovered is that it seems to keep a lot more moisture out of my lines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2004, 07:01 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,915
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I tried hooking this up yesterday and ran into a snag. The additional tank I am using is one of those portable tanks (used to fill and carry - not meant to have it's own compressor). My plumbing went from the compressor to a "T" mounted on the new portable tank and then back to the tank that the compressor is mounted on and then out through the regulator.

What happens is that when I fill the two tanks and the regulator shuts off, the "portable" tank continues to blow air back to the compressor and then the compressor sends it to the regulator mechanism where it bleeds off until the portable tank just empties out. This bleed off is apparently incorporated in the original set up to relieve the pressure in the line between the compressor and the tank and in the past, every time the compressor shuts down, there is a second or two of hissing as the air in the line is allowed to escape. When the "add-on" tank is plumbed into the system, however, the hissing just continues until the new tank is empty.

I'm thinking there must be a one-way check valve in the original tank (the one the compressor is mounted on) which prevents this from happening under normal conditions and that I need a similar check valve installed at my new add-on tank. Does anyone know for sure if this is the case?
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2004, 08:36 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,226
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 38
Thanked 126 Times in 122 Posts
Compressor plumbing

I just plumbed mine from the existing outlet..works fine that way,,not sure what you did..

try that and see what happens..??

__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-20-2004, 09:07 PM
Old enough to know better
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 417
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just hook it to the outlet of the existing tank and you'll be fine. It does sound like you tapped in ahead of the check valve.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2004, 10:17 PM
ChevelleSS_LS6's Avatar
Jeep XJ and a Javelin
 
Last wiki edit: Compression test
Last journal entry: August 9, part III
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 1,610
Wiki Edits: 7

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
put a "tee" (1 in, 2 outlet manifold) right at the outlet of the main compressor/tank. One outlet goes to the second tank, and the other outlet goes to the tool. I'd probably put the regulator on the compressor at or near max. safe operating psi, and a second on the tee where the air hose connects to. This would seperate the pressureised air from the hose air.

Maybe I'm wrong? Maybe I'm right. Am I?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.