Advice on appying acrylic clearcoat for newcomer!! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2005, 01:19 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Advice on appying acrylic clearcoat for newcomer!!

Hi Guys,this is my very first post.I've been searching most of the day for a site like this as i'm sure someone here can help out a complete novice like myself.I must first off admit that i don't actually own a rod or custom vehicle of any type.I'm more into my v-dubs (Karmann Ghia/bay bus),but I think what you guys do is to be admired,i only wish i had the time/space money to commit to a project.I do however have knowledge in Engine Technology as i work for Shell Research,so maybe i can trade help and advice,
Anyway,my problem is that i've used Plasticote gloss in a spray can to touch up a panel.However I've since been told that it isn't fuel/oil proof so i need to apply a clearcoat.I have a tin of clear acrylic ready but how do i prepare the panel first?Do i wet sand with 1200grit wet/dry until i have a smooth matt surface,then paint over with clear,or do i wet/dry,then use compound to smooth,then buff up to shine,THEN apply clearcoat?

I'm confused,any advice would be VERY MUCH appreciated!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-25-2005, 03:27 PM
Technician

Last wiki edit: Epoxy primer
Wiki Edits: 17

Could you give us some more detailed information about the product you are spraying (like brand, number, and what hardener/activator), and what material you are painting over? If I understand right, you want to clear over spray can paint? That sounds rather dicey to me.
Old 11-25-2005, 03:47 PM

Thanks for the reply,