advice sought from the old school - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2005, 03:55 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

advice sought from the old school

hello all.

i am very new to the whole hot rod scene and i'm looking for some advice. i'm looking to get a car (a good place to start i know) that is going to be a learn as i go project. i've narrowed it down to either an 51 olds super 88 or a 51 ford custom. they are both priced the same so that is not really a factor. my questions are, which would be easier for a newbie like myself to work on, find parts for, etc? do either of these cars have notorious problems (ie the back end on the ford was bad out of the factory)? i don't want to build anything to race, just something to get me from a to b and look damn good doing it, so i'm more concerned with restoration as opposed to upgrade. i'm also wondering what sort of things i should look for, ask questions about before i put any money down. the sellers claim that they both run/drive well and are pretty low mileage for their age. the problem is that they are out of state and there is actually i will not get a chance to physically look at the car before i buy. are there any sort of guarantees i should ask for from the sellers? do lemon laws cover 55 year old cars?

and of course any other words of advice, or encouragement, or suggestions that you could offer would be appreciated.

thank you in advance.

newbie13

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2005, 04:15 PM
Come Home Safe Soldier

Last journal entry: Headers
Last photo: