after searching i'll ask you! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 12:49 PM
slider in wa's Avatar
Slider in Wa.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Benton City Wa.99320
Age: 63
Posts: 700
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
after searching i'll ask you!

I am needing to upgrade my 305 tpi system to work on my 350 engine. The how to articles tell me to change the KNOCK sensor and the ESC module. As well as the fuel injectors. When it try and find a seller , they all tell me the items do not need to be changed. Or that they are the same on 305's and 350's. Please advise me. I'd like to find a seller that understands my request. This is for a mass air syatem.
Thank you and have a fun day today! Ken

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 12:52 PM
Double_v23's Avatar
Horsepower Enthusiast
 

Last journal entry: Finished BMOD001FH
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,495
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Why do you have to change the knock sensor? Do you have a lumpy cam or something?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 01:33 PM
slider in wa's Avatar
Slider in Wa.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Benton City Wa.99320
Age: 63
Posts: 700
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
knock sensor.

I have a gm ROLLER CAM 14097393 WITH 196/206 DUR, .431/.451 LIFT AND 109 LOBE SEPERATION. i DON'T THINK IT IS ALL THAT LUMPY? hOWEVER ALL OF THE UPGRADE ARTICLES TELL ME TO CHANGE IT TO A 350 KNOCK SENSOR( REGUarDLESS OF WHAT CAM I USE) Sorry about he cap lock! I am also told to change the esc module and injectors. What do you think? Thanks for the rapid reply.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 01:42 PM
31 five window
 

Last journal entry: Master cylinder
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: louisiana
Age: 56
Posts: 1,577
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
I am getting ready to do the same thing and a certified GM mechanic told me to just change to 350 injectors and everything else will work.I have not done it yet so I can't speak first hand,but I do trust this mechanic.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 03:21 PM
slider in wa's Avatar
Slider in Wa.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Benton City Wa.99320
Age: 63
Posts: 700
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes i understand

Being new to YPI i want to be sure as rain on this. So thank you for your help. Have a fun day today!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2008, 03:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,750
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 417 Times in 360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider in wa
I am needing to upgrade my 305 tpi system to work on my 350 engine. The how to articles tell me to change the KNOCK sensor and the ESC module. As well as the fuel injectors. When it try and find a seller , they all tell me the items do not need to be changed. Or that they are the same on 305's and 350's. Please advise me. I'd like to find a seller that understands my request. This is for a mass air syatem.
Thank you and have a fun day today! Ken
Year of the system is necessary for TPI they have many yearly and to some extent model changes. Early OBD I models can be MAP or MAF sensed, use different injectors let alone 305 to 350, but are all batch fire and have an accessable PROM that can be replaced to reprogram the system.

Later OBDIIs tend to come back to MAF systems, but not all, are usually sequental instead of batch, the computer chips are not accesssabe so an external processor is requred to fool with the computer.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Searching for dyno software MotorBrain Engine 0 09-18-2006 06:42 PM
Searching for old Hot Rod albaran Introduce Yourself 3 07-21-2006 07:06 AM
Searching for a body Sharecropper Introduce Yourself 3 05-29-2006 07:14 PM
I've been searching and searching... raidmagic Engine 3 09-24-2004 08:51 PM
Searching for details m1ck Body - Exterior 0 02-02-2003 04:59 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.