Aftermarket Speedometer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2005, 08:13 AM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aftermarket Speedometer

Im looking to buy some after market gauges, Im just wondering how you are supposed to calibrate the speedometer. Does it come with its own cable and gears to go in the transmission or what?
Thanks


Brad

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2005, 11:15 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...
 
Last wiki edit: Crankshaft Coalition Wiki Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stupidville, USA
Posts: 1,699
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 11
Thanked 81 Times in 75 Posts
The cable hook-up should be standard for your application and will use the stock cable.
Calibration is entirely dependant on the speedo gears in the tranny and, if the gears don't match your rear end gear or tire size, you will have to correct them to have the speedo read correctly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2005, 11:21 AM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts



Well it really depends on the vehicle you are working on.....

On most pre 90 models, you have a cable driven speedometer. With these, you just put the correct driver/driven gears in it and the speedometer is correct.

Here is a chart to assist you......

http://www.tciauto.com/tech_info/speedo_gears.htm

On later models that came with a electric speedometer.........it is a WHOLE another ballgame...

I use the old cable driven ones in my projects......



Stewart Warner..............has been around since before I was a kid....
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:44 AM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So from my understanding, the aftermarket speedometer will use the stock cable and I will just have to switch out the gear in the end of it.
This is going on a 86 chevy c10 truck with a th350 if you were wondering.
Thanks guys


Brad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2005, 06:46 AM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
.



If the speedometer is correct now in your truck..........the aftermarket one will be also.

You may have to change speedometer cables..........to get one that will hook up to a aftermarket speedometer head.




The later model GM vehicles I have experience with use a clip type attachment .........not the screw on type like shown above. Most aftermarket cable driven speedometers use the screw on type.

.
__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2005, 07:35 AM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Duece, Thats exactly what I needed to know. I appreciate it.


Brad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2005, 07:26 AM
farna's Avatar
Member
 
Last wiki edit: AMC V-8s Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Batesburg-Leesville, SC
Age: 52
Posts: 1,635
Wiki Edits: 14

Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Why not save yourself a lot of trouble and get an electronic speedo? These use a pickup that screws onto the trans where the cable went. Just run a wire from there to the speedo. There is a switch on the back or front of the speedo (depends on which make you buy) to calibrate it no matter what gear is in the trans or size tires you have. Most require you to push a button, drive a measured mile, then push the button again to set it. After that it works right, and if you change tire size you can recalibrate. Can't get any easier than that! You can get digital or traditional dial type. The electronic speedo adds about $75 to the price of gauges (when you add the cost of the pickup), but it's much easier to deal with. If I change all mine that's what I'm going to use.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:37 AM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks farna, Ive been looking at the digital ones too. I posted the original question just trying to find out how the mechanical ones worked. I still haven't decided which type Im gonna go with, it was just some ideas Im playing with.


Brad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:37 PM
Nightfire's Avatar
Young & Idealistic
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine
Last journal entry: 1950 Fargo - losing hope
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 1,192
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Go digital, it'll match your eurolights and I rated this thread a 1 just because I can
Ok, but seriously, to give your truck a muslce machine look go for AutoMeter gauges with white face.




Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:04 PM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That was so funny mike, I forgot to laugh!
I don't know if Ill go with autometer or not yet, I probably will unless I find a good deal. And I was planning on the White faces, I think they look better anyways.
And I told you I was planning on shaving the tailights and put some in my roll pan


Brad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedometer with its own mind???? Old School Nut General Rodding Tech 15 06-06-2008 04:10 PM
Speedometer rebuilding/recalibration? jimfulco General Rodding Tech 1 04-29-2005 11:12 AM
Speedometer Information. M&M CUSTOM Transmission - Rearend 0 04-03-2005 08:47 AM
Speedometer Problem - Not sure where to put this? Fragzem Transmission - Rearend 6 02-04-2005 02:09 PM
700R4 - Speedometer chev38 Transmission - Rearend 10 05-06-2004 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.