Ahooga Horn with Led Momemtary Button Control - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 04:59 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ahooga Horn with Led Momemtary Button Control

Hey all.

I'm wanting to put a novelty Ahooga Horn into my Rig and use it with a LED Momentary Button.
I'm Very Green when it comes to wiring things, so I thought I would pop in over here and see if I could get some help on how to do it properly.
At this point, I'm not sure what I'll I even need to do the job.
Some people say to use a relay, others have told me NOT to worry about a relay and to just use inline fuses.

Let me explain how I want it to work, and we'll go from there:
I wanted the LED to come on (and Stay On) anytime my key is turned.
Then of course for the horn to work whenever the button is pushed, whether the vehicle is on or off.

The type of horn I will be using is a Wolo 330,
which has positive and negative leads of course.
Here is a picture of the Momentary Button that I will be using and the specs:
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0544.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	70603
Click image for larger version

Name:	19mmdiagram.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	70604
12v
10amp/125vac
1 NO 1NC

My original idea was to get the LED power from the in-cab fuse box.
I currently had an "add a circuit" plugged into it that I'm using for power to another mod. That set-up works fine with the turn of the ignition key, so I just figure go ahead and tap that line for the hot, and ground the switch separately. Don't know if that's a good idea or not.

Any help would be great.
Just looking for the easiest and most straight forward way that is safe.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 06:55 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 78
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Hey, welcome to Hotrodders Bulletin Board.

Any idea how many amps the Ahooga Horn draws?

If it's more than the switch is rated for, then it would be best to use a relay or a beefier switch.

Hope this helps...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not sure, the package hasn't arrived yet.
I talked to 2 different guys at the mfg.
1 said 3amps, the other said 9amps.
Both are under the 10amp switch, but I'm obviously not going to get any help from those guys if they can't even give me a definitive answer on the amps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:26 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,974
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 105 Posts
This is how I'd wire it. I have used those switches before and they won't carry many amps for very long, before they start getting hot and make the housing get soft from the heat then they fail, the contacts will take the current but not the housing. I like to use the gorund leg of the relay to function it..... This is a bosch type relay avail at any auto store or junkyard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Horns w lighted switch.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	70607  

Last edited by EOD Guy; 01-14-2013 at 07:41 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to EOD Guy For This Useful Post:
DEATHTRAP (01-23-2013)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So if it's wired with the relay as shown in that picture,
will the switch last...?
Or still end up failing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:39 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,974
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 105 Posts
I have four of these controlling the fwd and rear cameras on my truck...... I use telephone wire soldered to the small contacts, then strip the phone wire and wrap it around a larger gage wire, solder that, then slide a piece of shrink wrap over the entire thing..... works well. three years now on mine wired that way with no failures...... the first go around burnt two switches...

When you solder the contacts be quick..... the iron will melt the contacts out of the housing...... don't ask how I know this....lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:43 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Regular 18-16g didn't work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:49 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,974
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 105 Posts
I found it hard to get it through the small hole..... if you can get it through it'll work fine....... The switches I bought had very small holes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 07:57 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,974
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 105 Posts
Here is a source for some Stainless Steel momentary mini switches, they are about the size of a pencil eraser. I really like them and have used them on many mods, they hide very well...... My latest mod on my 67 Camaro.... the window cranks are the power window switches etc..... I put a mini switch on the side of the dash, with a series of relays, so that when you press the mini switch, the drivers side window crank controls the passenger window.... completely hidden and looks completely stock. I put another mini switch just above the window switch that unlocks the doors.

Harley Mini Push Button Momentary Switch s Steel for Custom Applications | eBay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 08:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oh, I was just going to use those little connectors.

Thanks for the diagram, that helps alot.
I've never had to put in a relay.
So I should be able to tap into my existing aux line for power to the leds without having to worry about a fuse it looks like? And I'll just have to use an inline fuse from the relay to the battery? Does that sound right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 08:06 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What kind of Relay to I need to buy?
And how do you properly tie in the 86 and 87 pin on the relay to go to power, and the NO and Ground pins on the switch?
Are you just twisting the wires together or is there a better way to do it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 08:07 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,974
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 105 Posts
It's always good to fuse all circuits, if your Aux source has a fuse you'll be fine not using an another fuse, those LEDs draw a tiny amount of juice and probably will smoke long before the fuse blows.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 08:11 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What kind of Relay to I need to buy?And how do you properly tie in the 86 and 87 pin on the relay to go to power, and the NO and Ground pins on the switch?Are you just twisting the wires together or is there a better way to do it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 08:15 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,974
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 113 Times in 105 Posts
It's called a bosch type relay, avail in just about every auto parts store, Radio Shack or....... I get mine from junked cars .... your looking for the five pins. On the side of most relays you will see the dia of what terminals are what....

To make the connections to the relay, you can buy a socket, I use female spade connectors, to tie the hots together, I use a spade connector, a short run of wire from both terminals into one end of a butt splice, the other end of the butt splice goes to the hot etc....

on the switch, just twist, then solder, them together and cover with heat shrink.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2013, 08:27 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I didn't know I could buy a socket for the relay either.
Great.
Hey Thanks alot for all the info EOD Guy !
It's very much appreciated.
You've really simplified something that may have aggravated the Piss out of me.
Hopefully all will go well.
Cheers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horn button Oilyrascal Hotrodding Basics 4 12-03-2012 04:01 AM
Need to setup push button for horn Juicer28 Hotrodding Basics 1 02-15-2011 04:08 PM
Horn Button wiring,one,wire,two fat40 Electrical 2 12-20-2006 04:27 PM
Horn Button on Lecarra Steering Wheel djboen Electrical 2 05-22-2006 05:35 PM
Looking need exploded view of 54 chevy horn button wy.miner Interior 2 03-24-2005 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.