aint got no turn signals - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2006, 08:23 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto..Canada
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
aint got no turn signals

I have recently purchased a 1960 austin healey with a chev 350 and a 4 speed. One of the previous owners bought and partially installed a ...painless wiring kit...however he has not hooked up the rear turn signals...I have brake lights, but no turn signals, its supposed to be the same bulb for both...can anyone out there help me....(yes I have been in touch with the wiring kit maker but as of yet he is of no use)

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2006, 06:00 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Sure, What exactly do you need to know? How far is the signal installation thus far?

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2006, 04:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto..Canada
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by docvette
Doc here,

Sure, What exactly do you need to know? How far is the signal installation thus far?

Doc
here's what I need to know....I have a toggle switch for the turn signals and that part works, where do I hook up the brake light wire....this system uses the same bulb for the turn signals as the brake lights...( the original turn signal switch did not come with the car...thats why I'm using a toggle switch)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-18-2006, 06:01 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugeye
here's what I need to know....I have a toggle switch for the turn signals and that part works, where do I hook up the brake light wire....this system uses the same bulb for the turn signals as the brake lights...( the original turn signal switch did not come with the car...thats why I'm using a toggle switch)

Doc here,

A SINGLE pole, Double throw switch is not going to work.

A Standard turnsignal switch is a set of contacts and center wiper PER side..
and the Brake-lamp circuit wires THROUGH the Signal switch..

using but one side for instance the left side, it would be like this..
  • The Center-wiper to the Lamp filament in the rear.
  • The Normally CLOSED contact to the Brake lamp switch.
  • The normally OPEN contact to the signal flasher.

When you turn on the left signal at a stop (with the brakes on) It disables the Power to the left BRAKE lamp..(the right stop light stays on)..and places the Flash on that filament..(I.E.) the left brake-lamp goes out and the signal flashes from the same (brighter) filament..When the switch is returned to neutral or "Off" the normally closed circuit energizes..(brake lamp) and the brake lamps work per normal..

Without this type of Isolation, the brake-lamps and park lamps in front would ALL flash at once (like a 4 way)..and when you hit the brakes ALL would light at once..

The same occurs on the right side.

So you are going to need a different switch, or a relay, OR a standard turn signal switch.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto..Canada
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Doc

thanks for the info....I guess I'm going to have to get creative on this one as there is no room for a conventional turn signal arm....but at least now I know what I have to do.....Here's one more for you...this car has a 350 chev engine jammed into the engine compartment....the original car had a six cylinder....I'm thinking of going back to a six just because of the lack of room (it looks like you have to take out the engine to change the plugs) do you know of an American six (that is a good workhorse) that is readily available. Its now mated with a 4 speed that I would like to keep.

bugeye
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-19-2006, 03:51 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 170
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
300 ci Ford or a GMC, 270,302. If it were me, I'd keep what you have and worry about plug changes later, keep the pedal to the floor and you'll never need to change 'em.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-20-2006, 01:45 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

The only problem I see about going to a six (GM at least) would / might be height..side to side there is tons of room but sixes are pretty tall..and not sure about clearance on a Healey..

What about a V6? like a Buick 3.8 TBI..that might be an answer.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:35 PM
cletis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Parker County, TX
Age: 66
Posts: 43
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A 1960 Austin-Healy 3000 turn signal switch is on the steering wheel above the horn button. It's not on the column. Should be a little thumb lever sticking straight up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Tail Lamps, but No Turn Signals or Brake Lamps 41willys Electrical 12 01-02-2006 08:11 AM
Adding turn signals to '53 Ford P/U first timer Electrical 4 12-04-2003 04:37 AM
Wiring Tail Lights & Turn Signals horvath Electrical 15 04-30-2003 05:04 AM
turn signals impala dreaming Electrical 5 02-24-2003 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.