Air bag concerns - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2004, 09:40 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Air bag concerns

I am going to attempt to replace the turn signal switch in my 1996 Chevy Lumina(car). I know I can do the switch but what has me on edge is the AIR-BAG in the steering wheel. When I read the steps to do this job it sounds like I am going to kill myself if I am not careful. Has anyone got any pointers for me. This is my first time working with the air bag system so any guidance would be GREAT.

Thanks
Scholman

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2004, 09:47 PM

Last journal entry: "Z" construction
Last photo:

Don't take my "opinion" as fact on this one at all, but wouldn't unhooking the battery cable keep it from deploying?
Old 11-18-2004, 12:56 AM
Old enough to know better

In a word, NO. The owner's manual usually has a set of steps to safely disarm the air bag. Disconnecting the battery does nothing for the DERM (deployment energy reserve module). Just follow all the steps and you'll be safe.
Old 11-18-2004, 12:59 AM
Start those projects someday

Last journal entry: Divco - has been on the back burner
Last photo:

I can only speak for Ford products as that is the only thing I have had experience with. I'm sure most systems are the same or similar in operation.
Disconnecting the battery may help but the system should have some type of battery or capacitor backup system so if the car loses power instantly in the crash the system will still have the capacity to deploy.
The system can only deploy if 2 of the 3 crash sensors are tripped so the chances of it going off in your face are nil.