air not hold the valve up - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2002, 09:55 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post air not hold the valve up

I'm trying to change valve seals with the head on the engine. I have the air fitting in the spark plug hole, and the cylinder TDC. I hear air excaping, and when I compress the valve spring more air comes out the exhaust holes. It looks as if the whole valve is going down, and I have the air compresor as high is it will go. THis is my first time doing this and any help would be appreciated

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2002, 10:47 AM
Chief Procrastinator

Last photo:

It sounds as if you are not on TDC of the individual cylinder. check that both valves are closed and give the spring retainer a light tap (without hitting the end of the valve) before you compress the spring to remove the locks. Also make sure that your compression tool is not hitting the valve stem or lock.
Old 11-22-2002, 10:57 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 6

You could be on TDC, have both the valves closed and still have trouble.

Just went thru thi a few weeks ago. Be sure to tap the retainer around enough to move it at less 30 to 40 degrees. This frees up the retainer from the valve stem retainers.

Go ahead and remove the rocker arm from the other valve on that cylinder to ensure that it is indeed closed.

"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "

Old 11-22-2002, 11:20 AM

Last photo: