alternator amps - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2002, 04:43 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question alternator amps

How do you determine the size of the alternator and battery that will be needed to properly support the electrical system of a vehicle ?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-25-2002, 11:22 AM

As an electrician, I was always taught that you should go with no less than 100% of the largest current using device and 25% of all other devices you probably should use the overcurrent protection (fuse size)for computing the final amprage. Once this number has been calcalated, go to the next size bigger Alternator, and you should have yourself covered, without going overboard.
dodger
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2002, 03:29 PM
doesn't play well with others

Last photo: