Alternator High Volt. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:30 PM
jr.rodder's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sanford, Florida
Age: 23
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Alternator High Volt.

Hello, I recently bought a model t street rod and trying to work out the kinks. Seems to have strange electrical problems. The one that worries the most is the alternator will read 16 or more volts when driving down the road.
I replaced the one that was in it with one i found in my dads garage. At an idle its around 14 or so, measured at a handheld voltmeter, so i believe the gauge is correct.
Engine is a 350. Just put a brand new battery in it, and the car has sat for around 4 or 5 years mostly uncovered. Anyone have any suggestions or ideas of what i should try to do. Thanks in advance.

Here's the alternator...

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:16 PM
DOCTOR DC's Avatar
NUCKINFUTS MOTORSPORTS
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PACIFICNORTHWEST
Posts: 111
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It looks like a DN type alternator wired to be a 1 wire. Not a good thing. A DN is externally regulated. Even if its a SI its not wired correctly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 07:50 PM
bubbahotep's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NYC
Age: 42
Posts: 487
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I agree. It looks like a DN alternator that needs an external regulator so without it your output will be based on rpm and will always be too high (unregulated).

Delco DN Alternator (google that)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 08:13 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,436
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 230
Thanked 296 Times in 275 Posts
Looks like a fire waiting to happen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 08:37 PM
fast68's Avatar
likes chevy trucks & boobies
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 1,970
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
swap to a 73-up alternator

easy and safer and will charge correctly then

13.8 volts is normal
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:15 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,436
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 230
Thanked 296 Times in 275 Posts
By the way I like the ICON under your name . That is a cool sign. I have one too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:35 PM
jr.rodder's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sanford, Florida
Age: 23
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks so much for the replies. I looked back at the one I pulled off. It is a different alternator. Should i just take the old one in to auto zone or Advance and have them find one like it?
I'm trying to learn this stuff as I go. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 11:55 AM
jr.rodder's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sanford, Florida
Age: 23
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I went ahead and got a remanufactured alternator, that should be the same as the original.
Just to err on the side of caution, should I wire it like this? http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/atta...chmentid=23902
as that seems to be how the old one was likely hooked up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:52 PM
jr.rodder's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sanford, Florida
Age: 23
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Crap, cant edit my post. The blue wire in my picture goes to ACC on the ignition switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The number 2 wire well work were it is but should go to horn relay or fuse box + . That is the wire that tells it to put out more or less amps . Yes number 1 to hot with key on .My two cents
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:05 PM
bubbahotep's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NYC
Age: 42
Posts: 487
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you're using a remanufactured one that is identical to the one you posted a pic of then it is still incorrect. Is the new one also a DN alternator or a regular 3 wire?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:07 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
alt.

I would get the plug or two wire connector from a Gm parts dept. Wire number one terminal to the Acc. of your ING. switch and Number two wire down to the stud on the ALT. marked battery. both these wires should be #14 wire. Then I would run a #10 wire, If it is an older build does it have a ammeter or volt meter. If it has a ammeter run that #10 wire to the back side of the gauge to the + terminal, Then from the - terminal run the #10 wire to the Batt. terminal of the solenoid on the starter. I would run new wires Just because the others could be cracked and old, and I would add the flat connector because it would clean it up a lot. also when I do a car I use lots of wire ties and but it down by the intake bolts, you can also use wire looms.

Later 35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:28 PM
jr.rodder's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sanford, Florida
Age: 23
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bubbahotep- I think its a regular 3 wire, like the original. Like i said the one in the picture i found in my garage, because the original was shot.

It has a voltmeter.

Gonna try to set it up now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:44 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
alt.

Then wire the #10 wire to the alt. Batt. stud, and the other end to the Batt. terminal of the solenoid on the starter, if it looks like the one you posted.

Later 35terraplane

I missed where you said it was a three wire delete this

Last edited by 35terraplane; 10-07-2010 at 02:50 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:03 PM
jr.rodder's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sanford, Florida
Age: 23
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think its good now. Running just over 14 volts now. Thanks a lot guys.
At some point i'll rewire the number 2 to a fuse box or horn relay.

Tomorrow heading out to Tampa (100mi. away) for Southeast NSRA. Hope fully everything holds up.
[IMG][/IMG]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'55 T-Bird 12 volt conversion Sidn Electrical 4 08-29-2006 10:03 AM
6 volt to 12 volt conversion? ajcedar Electrical 7 03-09-2006 07:16 PM
6 Volt or 12 Volt 2000jack Electrical 2 02-09-2006 09:02 PM
6 volt-12 volt battery question MeEatsPigBrains Electrical 5 11-14-2005 02:49 AM
9 volt to a 12 volt dist 65Guera Engine 7 08-25-2004 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.