Hot Rod Forum banner

Alternator not charging

5K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  EOD Guy 
#1 ·
Hi all, this is my first time posting, the alternator isn't charging on my 67 Camaro. I have an optima red top battery that is known good as well as a new voltage regulator and a remanufactured alternator. I went through all the wiring to make sure there weren't any loose or corroded connections, I even went so far as to unwrap the wiring harness to expose and check the factory soldered splice. With the car running I am reading 12v at the battery , 12v at battery post on the alternator, 12v at the F(blue) terminal on the regulator, 0v at the #2(white) terminal, 12v at the #3(orange) terminal and 7v at the #4(brown) terminal. I think I should be reading 12v from the ignition switch on the brown wire at the regulator. If anyone has any information they could share it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.:)

#3 · (Edited)
12v at the F(blue) terminal on the regulator,
0v at the #2(white) terminal,
12v at the #3(orange) terminal and
7v at the #4(brown) terminal.

F terminal is your exciter wire and it looks like it's providiing 12v to the alt to tell it to produce juice.

#2 or white is your sense wire and it tells the alt to produce more or less juice depending on the demands of your elec system.

#3 or orange (also your fuseable link) is the supply to the fusebox

#4 or brown is the supply from the ing. I don't remember if it was 12 volts or 9...... but I think it was 12.

Sounds like the alt is bad, as suggested above get it checked out, just because it's new doesn't mean it's good.

Some sound advice....... switch over to an internal regulated alt, super easy to do and it's very un-do-able should you decide to go back stock. I did it..... no more dim lights, heater fan and all the electrical Gremlins dissappeared.

Basicly you disconnect the wires from the external regulator

Jump F or the blue wire to #4 or the brown wire,
Jump #2 or white to #3 or red wire.