Alternator - small bind when turned - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2005, 07:34 AM
Move It On Over!

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Alternator - small bind when turned

I got a new 140A Powermaster alternator from Summit yesterday and when I spin it, it kind of lightly binds at one point during the rotation. It is not hitting against anything and feels like a magnetic pull. This happens spinning it slow or as fast as I can spin it by hand.

Is this normal? I don't think it is and would appreciate some opinions before I call Summit for another one.

Thanks,

Dan

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-18-2005, 10:46 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...

Last wiki edit: Crankshaft Coalition Wiki Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

You may have a bent armature shaft. Check the runout at the pulley. The armature runs inside magnets so the pull is a good thing and a bent shaft would reduce the air gap to the magnets creating your "bind"...
Mark
Old 08-18-2005, 11:21 AM
Move It On Over!

Last photo:

I talked with Powermaster's tech support and the guy said that it may be caused by the thing sitting on the shelf for a while and the weight being on one part of the bearings. The inspection tag says 6/1/05, which isn't *that* long. He said that it will probably go away after installing and running it for a little while. If not, its got a 1 year warranty.
Old 08-18-2005, 03:53 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 12

Drag

Doc here,

Yeah, and cancer gets better all by itself...

What's probably happening is the Bearing probably has a flat ball in it, OR the Brushes are misaligned...