Am I restricting too much air flow? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2012, 08:47 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Am I restricting too much air flow?

I have a 5hp 80 gallon compressor in my basement, but my garage is 30 feet from the house. I have 35 feet of 3/4" pipe running around the basement to cool the air, and an outlet on the side of my house that I plug a rubber 1/4" air line into. The rubber line goes out to the garage and connects to 30 feet of 1/2" pipe in the garage. I cant run metal lines out to the garage due to a massive concrete patio on my back porch. Is the 1/4" air line going from the house to the garage restricting my air flow? Can I pull 15 cfm through that line?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2012, 10:25 AM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 61
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noob81
I have a 5hp 80 gallon compressor in my basement, but my garage is 30 feet from the house. I have 35 feet of 3/4" pipe running around the basement to cool the air, and an outlet on the side of my house that I plug a rubber 1/4" air line into. The rubber line goes out to the garage and connects to 30 feet of 1/2" pipe in the garage. I cant run metal lines out to the garage due to a massive concrete patio on my back porch. Is the 1/4" air line going from the house to the garage restricting my air flow? Can I pull 15 cfm through that line?
From my experience, that 1/4" line is too small for even short runs. Replace even the hose to your air tools with 3/8" and you will be amazed how much better they run. I say go to a minimum of 3/8" line. Using the pi R squared formula, you will see that 3/8" will handle twice the volume of 1/4" . For that run, you may want to get some 1/2" air line. Not sure where to get it from in your area, but I know it is available. Maybe check with a heavy equipment dealership to find out where they get theirs. 1/2" air line is used to power all heavy air tools, such as 1" impacts. Possibly your local NAPA auto parts store will be able to help you out.

Big Al

Last edited by adantessr; 02-09-2012 at 10:34 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2012, 10:57 AM
dinger's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: 36 Ford painting
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Visalia, Ca.
Age: 61
Posts: 2,707
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 102
Thanked 108 Times in 74 Posts
Get rid of the line in the basement, I really don't think you need that with a good dryer installed. Run a larger line to the garage, 3/8 minimum. Depending on what you use the air for, 3/8 should suffice for everything but the largest tools and your compressor likely won't run those well. The more air hose you run, the more volume you will using. I don't remember the formula, but for every foot of hose, you lose a little pressure. Try this:http://www.gates.com/industrial/pres...043#calculator

http://www.gates.com/industrial/pres...043#calculator
__________________
"When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it had happened or not." - Mark Twain
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2012, 12:38 PM
Old Fool's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: spokane,wa.
Posts: 1,345
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
The 3/4 line is fine, so is the 1/2 .
the problem is the 1/4.
No matter how big the pipe is on the receiving end the most air you can get is what the 1/4 will flow.
replace it with a 3/4 hose .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2012, 10:05 AM
adantessr's Avatar
'23 T-Bucket Pickup
 
Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Charleston , WV
Age: 61
Posts: 1,549
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 43
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Here is the calculation using the Gates calculator

Showing 100 psi at the compressor and 15 cfm output with a 30 foot run you will have a pressure loss of 27.97 psi with 1/4" hose, 3.32 psi with 3/8" hose and .73 psi with 1/2" diameter hose. Thanks to DINGER for the link to the calculator. So the choice is yours. How much pressure loss can you live with ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:58 AM
Old Fool's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: spokane,wa.
Posts: 1,345
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
Every fitting also reduces flow based on the type of fitting
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2012, 01:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is really nice to be visiting your post. I found it very informative.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2012, 06:32 AM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,199
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts
u just put an orifice in the line..

u can put in a 3" pipe all the way... and in the middle u put in a 1/4" pipe.... the max flow is what u get through the 1/4" only.. the bigger pipe is storage of air, not flow...if u change to a 1/2" pipe all the way u'll be fine... keep the elbows to a min too..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil.. how does it flow around an SBC? duncan_m Engine 10 12-24-2008 07:05 PM
enough flow to go? camino_man Engine 7 07-11-2004 01:26 PM
flow 78 chevy truck Engine 4 11-11-2003 01:29 PM
flow 78 chevy truck Engine 2 11-06-2003 03:54 PM
over flow cc69 Engine 2 08-25-2002 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.