American Heart transplant: Toyota needs a SBC... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2011, 04:50 PM

Last journal entry: American Heart Transplant: Toyota FJ60
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

American Heart transplant: Toyota needs a SBC...

Hello everybody,
My name is Dan.
I have a 1985 Toyota landcruiser that is my project/'hot rod'.
Long story short, It will soon recieve an american style heart transplant

I finally have some time to start thinking about engine options and I have been doing alot of research and learning alot. First off I should mention I've never built a sbc, but I have some experience rebuilding engine (2 stroke evinrude, dirtbikes, etc). I came here to hopefully get some a advice/direction from the veterans. I'll spell out my goals for this project, and let ya'll weigh in.

Intended use of vehicle:
It will be built as a utilitarian vehicle that must be capable of 4x4, towing, DD, be able to run from 0-10,000 ft, get decent mpg, and be reapirable in the field in the middle of no-where.

Goals (in order of importance):
Reliability
Driveability
Repairability (in middle of no-where)
Cost
Ease of swap and repair

My thoughts so far:

I'm leaning heavily toward a 350 sbc, with vortec heads, small cam, and tbi system. I think tbi is best suited for my intended purpose of the vehicle because it will run at all elevations and angles, I can replace all electronics and fuel pump (external) in the field (carry spares), very simple to install and proven to be reliable. Problems are having to bore TB and have a custom chip burned. It doesnt sound too bad, tbichips.com comes highly reccomended, and provides ample resources.