americas pride lifts? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2008, 10:02 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

americas pride lifts?

has any one bought one of these and are they any good

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-14-2008, 10:28 AM

Last wiki edit: Mopar tapered axle rear brake conversion
Last journal entry: What I'm doing now...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 49

I've been investigating lifts for about two years now, talking to manufacturers at every show and compiling info. Here's what I've learned so far.

Almost ALL of the "inexpensive" lifts are made in China using Chinese steel. Some are available with US built motors but that's about it. The difference in price between a lift made with Chinese steel and one built in the US is about a grand (at least for two post lifts and its pretty close to that with four post lifts).

Given all this there are a couple decisions that you need to make. First, if you're using this lift for "hobby" use can you justify the extra $1000 for one built in the US. If not (that's my case) then you have to decide which of thee Chinese steel lifts are "better" than the rest.

A couple quick quotes from the America's Pride web site.
Quote:
"The major difference is that it is a well known and common fact that steel manufactured in China does not have the same molecular density that steel manufactured in the United States has and therefore it is weaker.
....and in almost the next sentence....
Quote:
The products that are manufactured in our Chinese plants.......