Amp gauge - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 03:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amp gauge

1958 Chevy Fleetside with original gauge cluster with 350 sbc, one wire 100 amp alternator, HEI distributer and electric motor fan. When the electric motor fan kicks on it would send the amp gauge from the middle of the gauge to the far right. This let me know my fan was on and that my alternator was putting out current. I rewired the entire truck with an EZ Wire kit and have either overlooked it or it did not come with a wire for the amp gauge. The amp gauge has several connectors on the back of it and I don't know what wires it takes to get it going again,,,,,, any suggestions?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 03:13 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,238
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 67 Times in 64 Posts
Madelectrical.com....
AMP gauges at the dash are troublesome.
They should be by-passed, and then install a VOLT gauge.

Wether or not you agree itīs worth reading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 03:44 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,848
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 243 Times in 198 Posts
Trouble with an amp gauge is that all the cars current must go through it to get a proper reading. That means taking a main wire through the amp gauge.....A volt meter just monitors the voltage, so a feed from almost anywhere will tell you your charging system is working....I would just install a voltmeter if I were you.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 03:58 PM
Rick 5150 69's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sac, Calif
Posts: 123
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
You may be able to buy a volt meter to match the panel from Classic gauges...
1958 Chevy Apache Classic Instruments Gauge Cluster Install - Custom Classic Trucks Magazine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 04:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 63
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Amp gauge

There are diagrams to show you how to wire it up. Amp gauges we're in cars for a lot of years. If they weren't safe the factory wouldn't have used them. You have full power going in to run your fuse box anyway. All a amp gauge is a big fuse with a shunt in I, draw to many amps and it will shut down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,746
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 63 Times in 61 Posts
Full current amp gauges were fairly common in older vehicles, but the output of alternators was also usually quite low (about 40 amps or less). As alternator amperage increased, the in-dash amp gauges were changed to a shunt-type amp gauge, which does not flow the full current through the wiring.

An amp gauge that uses a shunt under the hood (used by GM in the 70's) works more like a milli-voltmeter that measures the voltage drop between two points in the wiring harness. The gauge then uses the measurement of voltage drop to calculate an amp (or current flow) reading on the gauge. Its similar to measuring the amount of fuel in your gas tank at two points in time. If you know the amount of time and the fuel level difference between the two measurements, you can calculate the fuel flow rate.

The article referenced in a previous post by Rick 5150 69 identifies a replacement cluster that uses a voltmeter instead of an ammeter. This is a much safer choice.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2013, 10:04 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,295
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
ohms law

There is no question that the voltmeter is the gauge of choice as compared with the ammeter.
Some of the statements here on the HRBB about ammeters, however, are incorrect. Including Madelectrical.
While it is correct that some Manufactures (Chrysler) did route the full electrical load (current) through the ammeter, GM did not. Don't know about Ford. Who cares.
All the data I have seen indicate that GM used the main accessory wire as a shunt and measured the voltage drop (IR) across this wire to drive the ammeter. It's ohms law stuff.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2013, 02:01 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts
i did a write up on how to change an amp meter to a volt gauge in a task force truck over on the 67-72 truck forum
i have a build thread over there look for post 36 67-72chevytrucks.com

i used the stock gauge face and inserted the guts from a 2'' volt gauge into the stock cluster
here the truk is off and voltage is zero, i installed the needle to be on the middle dot when the voltage is 14 volts

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2013, 02:05 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,352
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts
here the truck is running down the road and the gauge is reading 14 volts at the center dot
lots of good 55-59 chevy truck builds over on the 67-72chevytrucks.com site you should be over there too

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2013, 07:44 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,295
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
no no

Are taking pictures at 100 mph?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2013, 10:02 PM
snkbyt's Avatar
ASE Master
 

Last journal entry: Wireing
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salem, Oregon
Age: 61
Posts: 245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick 5150 69 View Post
You may be able to buy a volt meter to match the panel from Classic gauges...
1958 Chevy Apache Classic Instruments Gauge Cluster Install - Custom Classic Trucks Magazine
Exactly!!! get rid of the AMP gauge... notice NO new cars have one. Used to be that if the AMP gauge blew you were stuck. Get a volt meter that can connect to anything with voltage. AMP gauges are things of the past...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's going on with my amp gauge? maddog48merc Electrical 21 10-07-2011 08:55 AM
Amp Gauge install cutsupreme Electrical 15 08-27-2011 05:08 PM
amp gauge mnwilliams2010 Electrical 6 07-01-2011 11:00 AM
Amp gauge wiring ChevPuba Introduce Yourself 0 11-05-2004 04:55 AM
amp gauge wiring DaveN Electrical 1 08-29-2003 04:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.