Amp Hookup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:11 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pa
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amp Hookup

Hi, I have a SUN-PRO amp gauge and I need help hooking it up. The car is a 64 chevy and has the old alt and voltage reg. I need to know what wires I need to put where. Any help??? Thanks alot. Don

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:33 PM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 9
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I don't think I have done one of those but it cant be to hard! Black is - negative. Red is + positive with DC. Are those the colors you have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:50 AM
docvette's Avatar Moderator
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 63
Posts: 7,360
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Doc here,

A TRUE Amp gauge is always installed in series with the line..(battery) and the load (The fuse buss).

Locate the wire that supports the fuse buss, and separate it from it's source and place the gauge in series where the wires came apart...

ARE YOU sure you want to USE an AMP gauge???

A Volt meter is MUCH safer, and if you blow a shunt across the gauge, it will not leave you stranded without power..

It Does NOT have constant BATTERY potential across the meter 24 / 7 / 365...for you to drop tools on or catch your watchband on (burning it right off your arm) melting metal, or harness, or starting fires..

NEEDS only power and ground in PARALLEL to the load, with a low amp fuse (5 or so amps) ..and works as well as an amp meter once you get used to using one..

Just a Thought..

Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Please select your insurance company (Optional)


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct Alt Amp gazrnr Electrical 2 09-18-2005 09:45 PM
100 AMP Service In Garage Help daveh Garage - Tools 9 02-27-2005 02:15 AM
Dangers of High Amp Output Ironman Introduce Yourself 4 12-06-2004 02:48 PM
NEED HELP! Amp is not getting power Meka Electrical 2 07-10-2004 06:15 PM
High Amp Alternator 84layinframe Electrical 3 04-25-2004 05:00 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.