Another Mustang II Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-26-2003, 06:21 AM
Truck - '49...Driver - '47

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Arrow Another Mustang II Question

I've looked in the knowledge base and searched the bulletin board and can't find any information about replacing lower ball joints.
I have a '49 Chevy pickup 350/350 with Mustang II front end. This weekend I plan to replace the lower ball joint on the passenger side, I plan to rebuild the whole front end soon but can't afford to right now.
My question is: How is that ball joint held in? I've never done ball joints before. I have a spring compressor and a pickle fork. Is there any other "special" tools that I will need?
Thanks in advance for any help and information.
Ed

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-26-2003, 09:32 AM

Hi-

If it's an original ball joint then it's riveted on. Just grind the rivets off and punch them out with a drift punch after the ball joint is removed. You can actually use the weight of the vehicle "spring pressure to pop the lower ball joint from the spindle. Just loosen the nut a few turns and tap the side of the spindle where the ball joint goes through the spindle and the shock of the blow plus the pressure of the spring will pop the ball joint free. The replacement ball joint is bolted back on with the supplied bolts.

Joe
Old 06-26-2003, 08:38 PM
It is now Saturday, everyday!!

Last journal entry: Project '57 Ranchero
Last photo: