another primer question. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2009, 09:12 AM

Last journal entry: Con't
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

another primer question.

I'm a first time builder and just recently joined this site - this is my first post. I've been reading some of the info on primers and my understanding is :
The consensus seems to be to use epoxy primer on bare metal then 2k to fill/blocksand. I'm a ways along on my 35 and now am wondering if I screwded up. I took the body down to bare (one section at a time), did my hammering and welding, then body filler. When I was satisfied I primed with Evercoat Durabuild. Blocksanded, recoat, , blocksanded more etc. When satisfied I covered it with Nason fullpoxy. Thats where I'm at now and pray my procedures are acceptable. I'm not looking to go to the Oakland roadster show with it, but have enough pride that I'd like it to look decent for cruiseing. How much trouble am I in? Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-11-2009, 10:08 AM

For me it is always best to expoy over bare metal first..in your case if you are sure all rust is treated under bodywork (if any at all) you should be fine. Sounds like you are doing just s/b fine with no reprocussions....FYI I have epoxy'd before and after 2k primer and I have no reprocussions after 11 years now....Greg If you have any more questions ask me..c if i can help..
Old 11-11-2009, 10:59 AM
Last photo: