Another Wiring Question.... - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 02:09 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Its kind of hard to explain.
It's not hard to explain. You want to make a 10g extension cord.

Quote:
whether the added outlet on the end reduces the electricity going to either the oven/compressor.
This has absolutely NOTHING to do w/your appliances in the apartment, unless you plan on running them off extension cords too LOL.

Anytime you have a run of wire, there's resistance. The "trick" (mathmatically calculated easily, actually) is to size the wire large enough so that the current draw of the compressor plus the resistance of the wire doesn't exceed the rating of the circuit that you're using.

Exceed it and there's your fire hazard- or more likely just a tripped breaker- that is until that's either bypassed or in some other ingenious fashion made to bow to your needs.

Might want to avoid having kids around, and try to avoid any oily, damp or wet conditions. A "Danger- HIGH VOLTAGE" warning sign would be good- but will not affect your being liable if there's a mishap.

Liability/renters insurance may or may not help you if there's an accident, so you might want to put your worldly possessions in another name.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 02:11 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trust me, ME TOO!

I cant wait to get out of this apartment and get everything perfect!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 02:43 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Wiring diagram 1953 Chevrolet
Last journal entry: Spare Tire Dent Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: a little S/E of Nome
Posts: 789
Wiki Edits: 647

Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
You do realize that a range plug and a dryer plug are different, and there is a reason for that. Range plugs are heavier construction because of more amps passing through the plug, dryers have less. The end of the 'extension' cord should at least have a range plug on it. If you are just using the oven part and nothing else, you could be alright.

If you intend to roll up and unroll the 10 ga, wire each time that you want to use it, that is a no-no! The wire that you are using is and will become to brittle and strands will break and resistance will increase, and you will blow the cable. If you want to roll and unroll cable use a multi strand cable MADE for that purpose. The cable that you have is made to remain in one position, afixed to a stud and left there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 05:07 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got my 10-3 cable from homedepot. Its about an inch thick and it has THICK rubber around it. Each wire is individually wrapped inside and there is like a fiberglass filling in the inside. It came rolled up on a spool so I dont see why it would hurt it.

My dryer outlet is a 4 prong outlet and I already have a heavy duty plug on it. I just hope it will run on the 30 amp breaker if not I cant use it. I cant change out my breakers. 1. because its an apartment. 2. I cant shut off the main power. 2 being the BIG one!

Last edited by rjbrown; 04-26-2009 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:00 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Posts: 671
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
I take it your wifes making you move into the garage?

I made up an extension cord for my 220V MIG welder. The cords so short on the welder I'd have to drag everything I work on across the shop. Also run a small plasma cutter off the same plug in the wall. If I were you I'd leave the 30 amp. breaker rather than change to a 40 amp. because it would still protect the dryer and the compressor if that's rated for a 30. You might not be able to run all the elements on the range but that shouldn't matter. Better to blow the breaker with the oven and still have proper protection for the rest of the equipment.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 10:36 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well see my laundry room is in my apt.

We were forced to move from our house and I cant just shut down my powder coating business. I have alot of work to be done. That is why I ask.

Yeah I wont even be using any of the top burners. In fact they are removed. I will just be using the oven.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2009, 05:46 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbrown
I cant just shut down my powder coating business. *snip* Yeah I wont even be using any of the top burners. In fact they are removed. I will just be using the oven.
Anyway, I'll pass on those pizza rolls, thanks just the same. lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2009, 06:27 AM
cnukpup's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: joliet, il
Age: 38
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
just wondering but how big is the compressor? and how many phaze is it? just wondering.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2009, 09:55 AM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,374
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
compressor wiring......

Hi,i ran a 10-3 wire from my circuit breaker box (main line) with a 30 amp circuit breaker,dedicated to the comp,i ran this line into a stove female plug,then i made an extension cord out of a welding cable (big,thick one) then to a plug on the compressor.. it works fine (14 years ) never overheated.(line)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2009, 01:34 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanaimo, B.C., Canada
Posts: 671
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Yeah, I did the same but I bought the 10-3 flex cable at Home Depot. Think the whole thing including male and female cost $60-70 Canadian.

So, Rjbrown, you do powder coating in a domestic oven? Any tips?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2009, 09:58 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yeah I do powder coating in a regular oven. I took a double oven and cut the middle out and welded some new panels and a new door.

Im in the process of building a 4' x 4' x 6' oven as we speak though. Should be nice when Im done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2009, 01:34 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 86
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rjbrown.......this is what I did to run a 240V line extension from the dryer room to the garage for a welder. The first pic is the female 240v receptical in the garage. The second pic shows where the line terminates in a junction box. In that box the 10-3 line is connected to a dryer cord which is draped over the top of the box. I simply remove the plug for the dryer (which is is also shown) from the 240v dedicated line and plug in the extension for the garage.

A word of caution.........this topic has been discussed at least twice on this forum and responses usually fall into two distinct categories.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT1111[1].JPG
Views:	66
Size:	217.2 KB
ID:	38668   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT1112[1].JPG
Views:	78
Size:	233.2 KB
ID:	38669  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
one wire wiring question pi71 Electrical 7 08-29-2007 11:09 PM
MSD 6AL question about wiring hemigremmy Electrical 2 06-05-2007 09:48 PM
Alternator Wiring question 65Stanger Electrical 8 04-29-2006 02:28 AM
Painless wiring harness question Big Geek Electrical 9 02-28-2005 03:30 PM
85 s-10 distributor wiring question strracer7 Electrical 1 09-29-2003 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.