Another Wiring Question.... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:43 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Another Wiring Question....

Ok well I got my compressor up and running. Im using a 35 foot piece of 10-3 wire and running it from my garage and into my apartment and into the dryer outlet. Now here is my new question.

Can I put a socket on the end of the line instead of running it wired straight from the compressor and into the wall? So I can plug other stuff into the line too and not have to buy a second line.

Basically I want the line coming from the compressor to be like 4 foot long and has a plug on the end that plugs into the extension cord that runs into the house and plugs into the dryer socket. I need to be able to unplug the compressor and plug in an oven in my garage (hopefully being able to use the same line) that is why Im asking.

Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:55 AM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,379
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 48
Thanked 151 Times in 143 Posts
All that you are doing is making an extension cord..Works for me. One thing though is that a dryer uses a 30 amp circuit and a range/oven uses a 40 amp circuit so the range/oven probably will not work on that circuit..

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 12:32 PM
1947 Chevy Coupe
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
An extension cord on a major appliance is dangerous. Call an electrician.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 12:52 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just said its in an apartment. Why would I call an electrician?

Anyways, the plug going into and outlet connected to a 35 foot cord plugged into another outlet will not have any negative affects on the equipment?

Yeah I was wondering about that. I guess we will see if the oven will work off the dryer outlet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 12:58 PM
1947 Chevy Coupe
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You are trying real hard to kill yourself. Please do not use appliance outlets for air compressors and please do not use extension cords on major loads. Call an electrician.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:05 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
LOL at the "call an electrician"

I LIVE IN AN APARTMENT.

THEREFORE I CAN NOT CALL AN ELECTRICIAN.

I CAN NOT MODIFY THEIR BREAKER BOX NOR CAN I HAVE HIM WIRE OUTLETS.

I dont think I can really make it any clearer then that.

And actually having spoke to an electrician about my extension cord. He said it would work fine. But I have no idea about what Im trying to do now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:09 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 70
Posts: 2,218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Hi,
If I were to do this, I would have put a fuse box in the garage a small one 4 circuits, & then came off that box with the two different amp ratings, wiring the air compressor direct & a socket for the range, that way you'll have two disconnects where your working, instead of having to run back to the house to disco it if there were trouble, for that 30' run, I would have gone at least one gauge larger.
Now for what I did, I called the electric co & had them put another line & pole in, they payed for that, I then used a large box & am still wiring it. (the garage) so I now have two meters, house & garage & safe electrical hook ups that can be turned off as your running out the door.
Rich
PS just saw your in an apartment, that make's things difficult.

Last edited by richard stewart 3rd; 04-26-2009 at 01:16 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:13 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
WOW...are you serious....I LIVE IN AN APARTMENT I CAN NOT MODIFY THEIR STUFF. LOL Damn Ive only said that like 3 times now.

Anyways I would not have to run back into the hosue. The cord that plugs into the dryer outlet would have another outlet on the end of it. So all I would have to do is plug in either the compressor or the oven. I could only use one at a time but that is fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:14 PM
1947 Chevy Coupe
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No need to shout

What you are trying to do has the potential for fire or electric shock. If you need a large air compressor but absolutely cannot wire it safely, then rent a garage somewhere.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:25 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
You're talking to a guy who has already made the choice to do it- one way or another- but to do it, consequences be dammed.

I hope his insurance is all paid up- and that his jacking around doesn't get someone else hurt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:27 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How is it a fire hazard?? The wire is FULLY insulated.

I bet half the people who have answered in this thread have never wired a single thing in their lives.

So just forget it. Ill find out elsewhere.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:33 PM
1947 Chevy Coupe
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am a master electrician who has 34 years in the trade. I think I am qualified to tell you my opinion on the subject.

I suspect cobalt327 is correct, the OP has made his mind up and is just looking for some papal blessing on the project. He will keep looking until he finds it. Shame.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:33 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 70
Posts: 2,218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
I thought you were looking for a permeate elect. hook up.
You can safely use a dryer/range plug & outlet for what you need,
get one cord&plug for each ac & range, & one socket
& use a 40 amp fuse at the breaker.
Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:38 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kc mo
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I take my cord and have one end being male and one end being female? I want to plug the male into my dryer outlet and the plug my compressor or my oven in my female end of the cable.

Thats all I want to know. I just want to make sure its not gonna damage anything or whether the added outlet on the end reduces the electricity going to either the oven/compressor.

Its kind of hard to explain. I dont leave the cable plugged in when not in use either. Only when Im using the compressor or the oven. Its only temporary until I buy my house.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2009, 02:01 PM
richard stewart 3rd's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 351W rebuild
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: tremont, pa.
Age: 70
Posts: 2,218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
That will work fine, just continue to use one at a time you won't damage anything.
I hope your house & garage are finished soon, so your able to do your work without worry.
take care & best of luck,
rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
one wire wiring question pi71 Electrical 7 08-29-2007 11:09 PM
MSD 6AL question about wiring hemigremmy Electrical 2 06-05-2007 09:48 PM
Alternator Wiring question 65Stanger Electrical 8 04-29-2006 02:28 AM
Painless wiring harness question Big Geek Electrical 9 02-28-2005 03:30 PM
85 s-10 distributor wiring question strracer7 Electrical 1 09-29-2003 03:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.