![]() |
|
|
|
|||||
|
Anyone purchased from HalfPriceMart.net?
Has anyone purchased anything from this outfit?
https://halfpricemart.net/ Some of the prices for items seem too good to be true. They offer free shipping on some items and only accept MoneyPak for payment. All of this makes me suspicious. |
|
|||||
|
Quote:
Thanks for trying to check this out. |
|
||||
|
halfpricemart.net
Attempted to place an order today. Had second thoughts after reading the blogs on this site and on one other. Very strange in regards to payment method. When paying by Green Dot Money Pak they request you enter the activation number and not the card number. Try contacting by phone and only receive a voice message that "the person you called in not available". anywho.com has no information regarding the phone number and gogglemap (aerial) indicates their location to be at the AAmerican self storage facility.
|
|
||||
|
DON"T BUY FROM THAT WEB SITE
It is a scam. Whoever it is had a site under several other names and has scammed hundreds of people, including my father out of their money. DO NOT send them a green dot activation code. there is no way to get your money back. Green dot doesn't give a darn about the fact that their being used to scam hundreds of people either, so don't even use their service in the future in you can avoid it.
If you don't believe me, just send them an email saying you'd like to pay with your visa. I bet you'll get an "order cancelled" almost right away. If you send them a green dot, you'll get locked out of the site once your money is gone and whoever it is will delete this site. Hope this helps. If it's too good to be true, it probably is.
|
|
||||||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||||
|
I sent them an email, asking if I could drive there to look at a toolbox. let's see what happens.
__________________
"When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it had happened or not." - Mark Twain |
|
||||
|
What I had found
Hey, I was curious about this thread regarding HalfPriceMart.net (HPM) and wondering what else folks might have found.
The fact that the HPM address is a storage facility didn't send up too many red flags to me because of the nature of what they're doing (I would expect them to need storage for the product). That is NOT to say that I think they're legit, just my $0.02. However, even for a small-budget small time operation a storage facility isn't the most ideal place to house the kind of inventory you'd expect them to have based on the volume and size of merchandise they're selling unless this is one big storage facility - a rundown warehouse would seem more suitable. Someone mentioned not being able to find more information on HPM. My approach was to check up on the website domain name instead. If you run a domain check they are registered as follows: domain: halfpricemart.net owner: James Parker organization: James Marvin Parker email: halfpricemart@live.com address: 2435 East Poppy Hills Dr city: Fresno state: CA postal-code: 93720 country: US phone: +1.5594354641 fax: +1.5594354641 That address above does pass a basic cross-reference check and comes back associated with James Parker (via his affiliation with the Zion churches) and Blazing PC (which Google Street View actually shows a company van parked in front of that house if you 'walk' around in SV a bit). A call to JP reached voicemail (surprise) but did reference the Blazing PCs. Left a message yesterday about his association with/awareness of HPM that has not yet been responded to. Again - doesn't scream 'legit' as I can register a domain and completely make up stuff or plop in someone else's info in if I want to add an air of legitimacy. But it does seem better to know that a name is associated in connection with the site (but then another check shows that JP owns more than 800 domain names, so either the name is a front, or he got ambitious early and registered a LOT of names in the hopes that some of them would be valuable someday and someone else would try and buy the rights to them). The quality of the website is an interesting paradox. It's surprisingly complete and well-developed for a typical scammer who, quite often, can barely spell correctly. On the other side it's down probably 90% of the time you try to hit the address with a FORBIDDEN error. The photos of the 'actual merchandise' are interesting, but these too could be grabbed from anywhere on the internet. The Craisglist factor is interesting too. The site disavows any association with CL listings, yet if you find and respond to one you (may eventually) get a response back from a (fill-in-the-blank)@halfpricemart.net e-mail address. So I was curious to see if anyone else found anything useful/concrete, or if everyone's trepidation is based on the adage of "if it sounds too good to be true..." Of course I'm only asking because I'd love to pick up some hugely discounted equipment, but not completely willing to over-ride my own spider-sense that's in tingle mode right now and toss my caution (and money) to the wind. I'd love to see more discussion/research on this... ESPECIALLY if anyone has an actual experience they'd be willing to share more details about (like if they ordered and believe it was a scam, what exactly happened - how the order was made, paid for, the communication from HPM, time that transpired, and at what point they had that "OH @#&*! I've been scammed" moment and what they've done since). Thanks! Last edited by PsyGuy; 01-06-2010 at 11:47 AM. |
|
||||||
|
Good sleuthing psyguy. You make some really good points. I suppose these folks could run the business from someones home and simply keep their inventory at a storage facility, but the one thing that really bothers me is their prices.
For example: They sell a brand new Bowflex TC3000 treadlimber for 800.00. Amazon sells the same one for 1799.00. Perhaps there really is that much of a markup on this item, however a thousand dollars difference just seems too good to be true. In today's economy, it's far too easy to be lured into low prices and if this site is ripping off the consumer because of it, shame on them!! On the other hand, if there are people who will reply to this thread with rave reviews about their transactions, I may have to rethink my position and give them a shot. Selling items at a fraction above cost is a great way to establish a business. Perhaps that's what these folks are doing. By the way, I found a thread regarding this at the bodybuilding forum. This is some good reading as well: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showth...hp?t=121289311 It seems that these are the only two sites that have anyone interested. There aren't any reviews of these people anywhere!! Ron.. |
|
||||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
||||||
|
I sent them an email about 3 days ago, no reply yet. They are about an hours drive away for me, I will check them out if I hear something.
__________________
"When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it had happened or not." - Mark Twain |
|
||||||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||||
|
Too many flags here the web site prices are too good to be true. Anyone who gives their information or worse credit card information to this scam had better hold on.
because they are about to loose their laundry .Vince |
|
|
| Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| DART pro1 jus purchased for 5.7 | Fbody5.7BIRD | Engine | 24 | 04-22-2009 03:31 PM |
| Newly purchased GFG-670 Devilbiss | 94blackcamaroz2 | Body - Exterior | 1 | 11-12-2008 01:05 PM |
| Purchased an "OLD" GM Hydra-Matic Trans.. | Bud's 27 T Touring | Transmission - Rearend | 1 | 06-02-2006 05:58 PM |
| Just purchased a new Project Car!!! | Lead Heavy '52 | Hotrodders' Lounge | 10 | 07-21-2004 07:39 AM |
| Jon??? Hotrodders.com Purchased by Hot Rod Magazine | spikes_50 | Hotrodders' Lounge | 12 | 04-04-2003 05:08 PM |