Is anyone running an xe274h comp cam on their sbc ? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2013, 10:12 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Is anyone running an xe274h comp cam on their sbc ?

if you are can you tell me your specs and what your idle speed is ?

I'm running a 350 bored over .60, with the 274h cam, an edelbrock 1405 600cfm carb, block hugger headers, performer eps manifold with an open spacer, and ported 305 heads with 2.02 1.6 valves, this setup is at like 10:1 compression give or take a wee bit

so i've got the idle speed set to 1000 rpm, I've never run an idle that high because this is my first time running such a large cam(yes i know it's still small) and i'm not too comfortable with my idle in four figures

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2013, 10:50 AM

i've seen plenty of youtube video of this cam but mostly in 383 strokers and seems like most are in the 850 range. i'm pretty new to this stuff so i'm just giving you what i've found.
Old 03-21-2013, 11:44 AM
my KARMA ran over my DOGMA

Last journal entry: SS
Last photo:

Why 1000, does it need that to stay running? do you have an auto trans, what is the idle in gear?
Old 03-21-2013, 12:01 PM
It's Madness, They are all Mad

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:

The performer, is this to stimulate low end? The 274xe is going to like more intake to take advantage of its potential.

600 is fine for break in, but depending on your ideas for the drivetrain, it could be bigger. The 600 might run out when it starts getting good.

The 274xe is about the most cam I would use in a street driven, normal muscle car weight, type build.