Anyway of distinguishing metal types? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2003, 07:18 AM
Murderator

Last journal entry: It wasn't quite out...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Post Anyway of distinguishing metal types?

Was looking at the polishing HOW TO--and also considering that there are some types of metal you're not supposed to weld because it lets off toxic crap...

How can you tell if someone gives you a piece of scrap sheetmetal?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-05-2003, 09:38 AM

I have been welding for 47 years and there isn't any metal that doesn't give off some toxic fumes. Lead is the worst but others are bad also. Mild steel sheet metal is not so bad if it doesn't have any coatings on it such as Galvanise or Epoxy coatings, even some paints are bad. My advice is to clean the metal by grinding off all coatings and vent the area and weld it...GlennK
Old 03-05-2003, 11:10 AM
Murderator

Last photo:

Isn't galvenized steel like stuff you want to avoid welding?

that's what I'm really worried about, getting some scrap sheetmetal from work, and they have no idea what it is, and neither do I.

Don't want to kill myself in the process of learning.
Old 03-05-2003, 11:50 AM