assembling float pin / rod - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2006, 11:02 PM
I lay strips in neutral.

Wiki Edits: 0

assembling float pin / rod

I have never worked with bushed, float rods before, just normal pressed-in pin, however I was under the assumption that the pin just slides right into the rod like it slides into the piston. I'm now assuming that I was wrong.

I got a set of Eagle rods today and I wanted to assemble it with the piston to compare this combo (Keith Black pistons) with the stock combo, to compare weight. To my surprise the pin wouldn't slide in and I didn't want to push hard because I was nervous about jarring the bushing. I began to think maybe I was sent the wrong rods so I looked up the measurements online. The pin diameter is .981 and rod hole is .980. so apparently the pin is not supposed to just slide in.

So now Im curious, how exactly does this work? If the hole is smaller than the pin how the heck does it free-float? Also how do I go about assembling it...do I need a shop to heat up the rod like a pressed pin?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-17-2006, 11:47 PM
Senior Curmudgeon

Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 326

If you full-float the rods with a bushing, you should be able to drop the pin right through the rod with little or no persuasion. Same for the pin hole in the piston. If you can't get the pin through the rod with little or no effort, then you had better get back with the supplier and discuss your problem. Did the pistons come with lock rings?
Old 04-17-2006, 11:51 PM

Last photo: