Hot Rod Forum banner

Assistance On NEW hvlp gun options...

13K views 62 replies 11 participants last post by  Mfoehrkolb 
#1 ·
I am building up my clientele and it's time to move onto bigger and better things...

NEW GUN TIME... I have been using the HF 2 Gun combo, along with the Cobalt Gen 1 blue gun...

My budget is anywhere from 100-350ish...

I shoot dupont chromasystem, and nason brand normally. Also some kline's auto high build clear (where i purchase my paint products)...

I plan on using the HF guns as primer, and sealer guns, and the new gun is going to be spraying the bc/cc.

These were some of the guns i was looking at, but i am still a novice. So i would like some other suggestion's or even feed back on what gun i should choose.

Devilbiss Plus GFG-670 Plus
Devilbiss GTI 620G Millennium
Devilbiss FinishLine 3

#31 ·
Well feel welcome just to give me your personal settings. I am going to be spraying nason and chromasystem basecoat, and usually spray nason 497-00 or 496-00 clear.

I sprayed "klines auto" high solid clear with my Hf
gun, and i mixed it to the correct 2-1 ratio... And it seemed
like it didn't want to come out. With a 1.4tip,35 psi, and feed almost all the way out. it just wanted to gloB onto the panel.

#32 ·
Well with this gun here is what I usually do. Open the material all the way open (until the trigger has full travel)... then turn it back in about 1/8 of a turn. Then start opening your fan up and watch it as you open it...you will see it getting wider... do it does not take much turning this to get it all the way open... as soon as you get to maximum width then turn it back in just barely. Double check your pressure at this point to make sure where it is at... set it at about 33psi or so with the trigger pulled. Then double check your fan setting one more time.... you should be pretty good to go. I almost always use the 1.3 tip with this gun. Trust me you will be moving pretty fast with this gun...