Attn: Airworld2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2003, 10:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Little Rock,AR
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Attn: Airworld2

I recently bought a 84 suburban with a 350 and 700R4('85 year). All of the emissions have been pulled off. It has a edelbrock 1406 carb and 2101 intake on it. My problem is there is no vacuum to run the lockup on it and we use this vehicle for towing. I was told to use this article and hook it to my unused port on my carb. <a href="http://www.73-87.com/garage/lockup.htm" target="_blank">http://www.73-87.com/garage/lockup.htm</a> But, I was told the vacuum needs to decrease as my throttle is pushed. Can anyone please suggest to me on what to do. BTW, I am not very mechanically inclined. Only know the basics and learning by reading repair books.

[ March 28, 2003: Message edited by: Tommy Davis ]</p>

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2003, 12:49 PM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,384
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Post

The vacuum doesn't lock up the tranny per se. It is used to unlock the lock-up feature when you are accelerating so use any port on your intake manifold or base of the carb to feed the switch.

Get the straight story by calling these guys.

<a href="http://www.bowtieoverdrives.com/" target="_blank">http://www.bowtieoverdrives.com/</a>

[ March 27, 2003: Message edited by: willys36@aol.com ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2003, 01:33 PM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

early production gm trucks had 2 vaccume sensor's
one one the fire wall that did require a vaccume signal from carb to close and complete the circuit!the other one was used to unlock torq converter under heavy throttle. but to answer your question paper clip in the sensor will make to connection complete but over rides the sensor!
to test circuit remove plug on trans case driver side , with key on use test light ground to trans pan and probe wires e mail me for more infor for free(not a web site that sells products)
__________________
airworld2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2003, 08:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Little Rock,AR
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

airworld2 I emailed you about my findings. Please email me back and let me know Thanks Tommy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2003, 10:08 PM
bonuts's Avatar
Got Ouzo for touzo
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: C-eh N-eh D-eh
Age: 32
Posts: 416
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Wow thanks for the link "Willy's" I've been looking for the set-up to put the 700r4 in my
S-10.

bonuts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2003, 06:06 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,058
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 315
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Cool

I've been trying answering tommy's question on another bbs...

He does not seem to understand the 700 does not need a vacuum conection to the tranny.

The site he is quoting shows the lock up setup on a 200R4 tranny. Although tthey function the same, the placement of parts is differnet.

========== I will also add; the creator of the page does admit he is unsure about lock up in 3rd gear on early 700's since he is not a mechanic. Early 700's locked up the converter in 2nd gear too. this was eliminated in later units.

[ March 29, 2003: Message edited by: Crosley ]</p>
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2003, 08:32 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Little Rock,AR
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Crosley, I am very sorry I am bothering everyone on this subject. I have been talking to a few trans shops here and they Have told me I do need to get the vacuum working before they will rebuild my trans. If they do the vacuum, they will charge me over $2000. If I do the vacuum, It will only cost me $950. I am just trying to save some $. That is why I am trying my best to understand what you all are telling me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2003, 07:50 AM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

There are many ways to set lock up torq converter
to activate, and many ways to change what gear and mph that it will apply.A vist to your local radio shack and gm dealer you can get wire and pin that will allow you to connect lock up to fuse box with out vaccum switch provides lock up in 4th gear only when it really necessary.just a after thought 200 r4 can be made to have lock in 4th without removal of trans pan with pressure switch outside.

[ March 30, 2003: Message edited by: airworld2 ]</p>
__________________
airworld2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2003, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Post

I know what you mean about the vacuum source to lock up the converter, I used to own an '84 camaro bought used with a rebuilt 700, the converter would never lock up and I happened to notice a small black box under the hood with a vacuum hose and wire connector going to it,..The wire connector was disconnected, I plugged it back in and it locked up as normal.
Now if all the computer and wiring were gone yours won't lock up either.

I would do as suggested and set it up to lock up in fourth gear, this seems pretty common and several companies make kits for this, you really don't even need a kit. So if your trans shop doesn't know of this you need to go somewhere else.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2003, 05:54 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,058
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 315
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Cool

I would find a new shop if there is that much difference from the tranny only to the vacuum system hook up included at $2k.


As mentioned , lock up in 4th gear only would probably be the way to set the tranny up for the best service and some ease on your wallet.

There is the possiblity your tranny shop will not know how to perform the simple mods needed for lock up only in OD.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.