Audi radio - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 06:25 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
Audi radio

The radio in my 02 audi a4 just says "check" when you turn it on. I just bought the car and it was workimg when i test drove it. Any ideas? I dont really want to bring it to the dealer but i dont know of anyone else who could know about this.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 06:51 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,240
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 214
Thanked 261 Times in 243 Posts
Sounds ike a defective radio. If the security was tripped it would most likely read "code" on the display,and you could put in the security code and it would come back to life.Sorry to say... it dont look good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 06:57 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Age: 45
Posts: 2,420
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
did it come with an owners manual?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 07:03 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,240
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 214
Thanked 261 Times in 243 Posts
Check all the fuses to make sure the cellphone adapter you have didnt blow the lighter fuse, which I think feeds the radio memory circuit. May or may not be the issue
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 07:14 PM
dinger's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: 36 Ford painting
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Visalia, Ca.
Age: 61
Posts: 2,711
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 102
Thanked 110 Times in 76 Posts
Moving this to electrical, maybe someone that lurks there will have an answer for you. Dan Sure do miss Doc at these times...
__________________
"When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it had happened or not." - Mark Twain
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2011, 08:19 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
I dont have the manual
I dont have the code either
But.... I do have a brand new pioneer head unit i got from a friend. But it wont look anywhere close to stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2011, 05:14 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,240
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 214
Thanked 261 Times in 243 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog7373
I dont have the manual
I dont have the code either
But.... I do have a brand new pioneer head unit i got from a friend. But it wont look anywhere close to stock.
STOCK...Who GAF. Put that bad Byotch in there man. Stock sucks anyway in that thing. You can buy( for 11 or 12 bucks) the install kit at mad marks stereo shop(or whatever its called in your town) . It gives the carriage and all the adapters to do a nice clean job. And for probably 20-25 bucks you can buy the adapter plug for the car so you wont need to hack the car harness, so when you go to sell the car you can plug and play the old one right back in.works like a charm. I have had my Alpine in 4 different cars and thats is what I did.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2011, 06:13 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
I'm probably gonna do that. Its a nice unit too. And has the usb for ipods. Guess I'll try to do that in the next few days.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2011, 07:35 PM
matts37chev's Avatar
I don't understand?
 

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shelton,Wa.
Age: 45
Posts: 2,420
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
did you try calling your local Audi dealer?
it might be something simple
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:11 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by matts37chev
did you try calling your local Audi dealer?
it might be something simple
I'll do that first. Dont want to waste time replacing it if its not really broken.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll: Radio or NO Radio Centerline Hotrodders' Lounge 47 12-12-2010 08:56 AM
Audi rear brakes yragat Suspension - Brakes - Steering 0 10-21-2009 01:45 PM
5 cyc. audi hottrodz Engine 0 12-04-2007 08:12 PM
Radio dannimo Interior 6 01-19-2004 02:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.