Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - auto darkening welding helmets
View Single Post
Old 09-09-2010, 05:13 AM
Crazy Ole Ironhead

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

As far as the "cheater lens",i've been using them for 10 years now,my eyes started needing them when i turned 40.
The reason OSHA and manufacturers do not recommend using reading glasses behind a shield is the fact that most reading glasses are not impact resistant and are not Z87.1 standard,which means it has a polycarbonate impregnated in it to block 99.9 % of UV and IR rays.
Regular reading glasses magnifies everything with no protection.
As long as you an auto lens that is Z87.1 standard,plus the inside and outside clear lens of that standard,you will never get a flash even if it is in the clear state.
We are required to wear safety glasses 100% of the time we are on the jobsite that are Z87.1...i've wore just those clear safety glasses around others welding all day long while i was dragging deck on a building,bolting up,gunning up bolts,connecting..etc etc and never got a flash at all,but back when this wasn't required,we all would get flash here n there,so yes,these Z87.1 lens DOES work,i am a firm beleiver in it from personal expereince,not just here say.
Now a days about all auto lens hoods comes with a cheater lens adaptibility,if it doesnt have it,,duct tape works wonders..lol..you can get true Z87.1 cheater lens at any weld supply store or online for a few bucks a peice,well worth the small investment for you're eyes..

As far as hoods,,i have owned the HF type..it was "OK" but never could see clearly through it like the higher end hoods.
I gave mine to an Apprentice while working in WV building a power plant after i purchased my Jackson NexGen hood.