autometer guages? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 03:29 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 218
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
autometer guages?

Im just curious, is there any way to install aftermarket guages, but in parallel? So that the autometer guage and the stock guage both work? I have guages in my trans am, but the stock ones just sit there, I think it would be so much nicer if they both worked. Its small, but I would love it! I didnt install the guages so im not sure, thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:00 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,040
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 127 Times in 118 Posts
I have never tried it but it should work, might have a reduction in accuracy due to the dual feeds. You could hook up a relay bank to switch from stock to the new with a flip of a switch. I do have a backup camera on my truck that feeds the rearview mirror monitor and the in dash monitor at the same time and that seems to work pretty well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 07:05 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Will work fine if hooked up parallel.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:03 AM
001mustang's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TN
Posts: 792
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would check resistance to ground from sensor w/ and w/o gauges connected.
Check in standby and during operation.
If minimal change in resistance then gauges should be accurate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:12 AM
TroyBoy's Avatar
Psychomotors
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Bonne Terre ,Missouri
Age: 49
Posts: 675
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Use 2 senders,thats what I did with my truck till I could get the new electric gauges installed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:34 AM
001mustang's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TN
Posts: 792
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BTW.
The gauge I installed in truck came w/ a dual post sender.
One post for gauge, second post for idiot light.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 02:02 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,310
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 46 Posts
autometer gauges

Quote:
Originally Posted by stroker444
Im just curious, is there any way to install aftermarket guages, but in parallel? So that the autometer guage and the stock guage both work? I have guages in my trans am, but the stock ones just sit there, I think it would be so much nicer if they both worked. Its small, but I would love it! I didnt install the guages so im not sure, thanks!
They would work, but I don't think they would be accurate, as most are using a certain resistance. if you had two senders the stock one and the autometer but there is only room for one with the gas gauge. the others, oil, temp, and volts you could put two senders in a chev. If they were all electric gauges i think they would work. You could make an amp gauge work but if it were me I would not want to put that many breaks in that wire. I just re read your post so you do have a Gm. and volt meter two senders, but SOL i think on fuel gauge.

35terraplane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 03:15 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,040
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 127 Times in 118 Posts
This is amazing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:00 PM
TroyBoy's Avatar
Psychomotors
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Bonne Terre ,Missouri
Age: 49
Posts: 675
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy
This is amazing
Whats amazing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
Will work fine if hooked up parallel.

Vince
Thanks. I was wondering the same thing. I did not know how to hook it up, but this is very helpful. I would have not thought to hook it up this way. Thanks for the tip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 07:28 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,040
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 127 Times in 118 Posts
The way some advice is given.... or repeated...lol seems like people are in such a hurry to post something they don't bother to read the previous posts and offer almost the exact same advice i'm just say'in
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 08:24 AM
TroyBoy's Avatar
Psychomotors
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Bonne Terre ,Missouri
Age: 49
Posts: 675
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy
The way some advice is given.... or repeated...lol seems like people are in such a hurry to post something they don't bother to read the previous posts and offer almost the exact same advice i'm just say'in
You will see that alot. Stick around, you aint seen nothin yet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:00 AM
001mustang's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TN
Posts: 792
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't mind hearing 2nd and 3rd and....opinions. They often don't coincide.

I get lazy when posts are so long,wordy and off message; like this one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Purple wire, electrical guages ( Cyberdyne ) KeithB123 Electrical 2 04-21-2007 10:48 PM
Anyone taken apart Autometer Guages? JhnBrackett Electrical 4 06-16-2005 08:33 AM
Backlit guages please!!! nitsud08 Interior 9 05-10-2005 06:58 PM
Autometer Guages scott011422 Electrical 1 09-12-2003 02:11 PM
digital guages for 65 elkie ekcaminoron Electrical 3 05-07-2003 06:28 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.